Science is Benefiting You - Clean Air

Watch in Windows Media | Video Player Help

Transcript of Video:

Narrator: The average person takes about fourteen breaths a minute.The quality of our air is vital to our wellbeing.  The Government of Canada is committed to clean air. Every day, hundreds of scientists, engineers and technicians work on leading edge research and monitoring programs in order to measure and report on air quality….so that we can breathe easier.

Celine Audette: National Air Pollution Surveillance Program

I’m Celine Audette with the National Air Pollution Surveillance Program and my colleagues and I measure pollutants in over 300 communities across Canada. The pollutants that we measure are the smog pollutants, ozone, sulphur dioxide, carbon monoxide. The National Air Pollution Surveillance Program is an urban network. We cooperate with the provinces, territories and municipalities to collect the data and then they provide their quality assured data to our Canada-wide air quality database. 

Narrator: This data and information also helps determine the potential health and environmental impacts of air pollution and identify emerging trends. But protecting Canadian communities requires a wide range of input.

Dr. Pierrette Blanchard: Canadian Air and Precipitation Monitoring Network

I’m Dr. Pierrette Blanchard and we are at Egbert, a small rural site north of Toronto. Egbert is one of the remote sites of Environment Canada’s Canadian Air and Precipitation Monitoring Network. The sites are usually remote and rural areas so the sites are not influenced by local sources of air pollution. The data that we collect at a site like Egbert is part of the science that informs the policy maker so that we have regulation that will protect the air quality for all Canadians and for the generations to come.

Narrator: Information from air quality monitoring stations is analyzed. It’s also supplemented with data from a state-of-the-art mobile lab.

Dr. Jeff Brook: Air Quality CRUISER

I’m Jeff Brook and I’m here in Montreal and we’re doing measurements with the Canadian Regional and Urban Investigation System for Environmental Research or better known as the air quality cruiser. Cruiser can drive and measure air pollution around cities and out in the countryside and it has some of the most sophisticated air pollution measurement equipment in the world. The cruiser has gone from Victoria to east of Montreal. We use the results of our information to provide key information to federal, provincial and municipal leaders who then can make policies that can help protect the health of Canadians.

Narrator: Some of this data is the basis for Canada’s Air Quality Health Index… a public information tool that provides daily forecasts about air quality levels. The index was developed by Environment Canada in partnership with Health Canada and provincial governments. It’s accessible on the web and in other media.   Using the scale, Canadians can be better prepared to deal with air pollution and take appropriate steps to limit their exposure. Environment Canada is working hard to measure and track air quality. Scientists and engineers check emissions to ensure vehicles and engines meet Canadian standards and regulations and investigate emission control technologies.  Researchers also study environmental impacts of current and new fuels. This scientific work develops information that Canadians need to make informed decisions about the environment.

Jacek Rostkowski: Emissions Research and Measurement Division

I’m Jacek Rostkowski from Environment Canada’s Emission Research and Measurement Division. We’re in our lab in Ottawa, which was built to test vehicles and engines for exhaust and evaporative emissions. This lab enables us to test engines from the size of my fist to a full size truck. We do a lot of testing for compliance for environmental regulations as well as doing basic research for species which are in the exhaust.

 

Narrator: Environment Canada is a world leader in environmental science research.  This important work is part of our mission to better understand air pollution, its levels, causes and sources, to keep Canadians informed about the air we breathe every day...and to remind everyone that cleaner air is better for all of us!

Experts together:  These are just some of the ways Environment Canada’s science is benefiting you!

La science vous favorise : L'air pur

Voir en Windows Media | Aide - lecteurs multimédia

Transcription de la vidéo

Narrateur : Nous prenons en moyenne quatorze respirations à la minute. La qualité de notre air est vitale à notre bien-être. Le gouvernement du Canada tient à cœur la qualité de l’air . Chaque jour, des centaines de scientifiques, d’ingénieurs et de techniciens travaillent à la recherche et aux programmes de surveillance afin de mesurer et de rendre compte de la qualité de l’air… pour que nous puissions mieux respirer.

CÉLINE AUDETTE : Programme National de Surveillance de la Pollution Atmosphérique

Je suis Céline Audette avec le programme national de la pollution de l’air. Ici, avec mes collègues, nous recueillons des données sur la qualité de l’air dans plus de 300 villes à travers le Canada. Les polluants sont les monoxydes de carbones, les dioxydes de souffre, l’ozone et les matières des particules fines. Nous travaillons avec les provinces, et les territoires pour recueillir les données et les provinces vont nous donner ces données pour la base de données pan canadienne.

Narrateur : Ces données aident à déterminer l’impact potentiel de la pollution de l’air sur la santé et l’environnement tout en repérant les tendances émergentes. Protéger les communautés canadiennes requiert tout un éventail de données.

Dr PIERRETTE BLANCHARD : Réseau canadien d'échantillonnage des précipitations et de l'air

Je suis Dr Pierrette Blanchard et aujourd’hui nous sommes au site de Egbert à peu près une heure au nord de Toronto. Egbert est une station rurale qui fait parti du réseau canadien d'échantillonnage de précipitations et de l’air. Présentement, nous avons 32 sites au travers le Canada où les mesures de la qualité de l’air en milieux ruraux et éloignés sont prises. Les données du réseau contribuent à la science qui forme la politique lorsqu’on a des contrôles d’émissions par exemple pour savoir si la qualité de l’air sera améliorée, maintenant et dans le futur. Ceci est important pour les générations à venir.

Narrateur : L’information provenant des stations de surveillance de la qualité de l'air est analysée. Les données d’un laboratoire mobile à la fine pointe de la technologie enrichissent l’analyse.

Gilles Morneau : Laboratoire mobile CRUISER

Je m’appelle Gilles Morneau, nous sommes présentement à Montréal et je suis accompagné du laboratoire mobile d’Environnement Canada qu’on a baptisé « cruiser ». Ce laboratoire mobile là comporte plusieurs instruments de mesure de la qualité de l’air qui sont très sophistiqués à la fine point de technologie. Avec le laboratoire mobile  « cruiser » nous avons parcouru jusqu’à présent de Victoria jusqu’à Montréal. Avec les résultats, avec les mesures qu’on va prendre du laboratoire mobile, ces mesures là vont être analysés, puis vont servir ultimement aux autorités fédérales, provinciales et municipales afin d’élaborer les meilleures politiques possibles pour protéger la santé des Canadiens.

Narrateur : Certaines de ces informations serves à établir la cote air santé... un  instrument d'information publique qui fournit aux Canadiens des prévisions quotidiennes sur la qualité de l’air. Son élaboration est une collaboration d’Environnement Canada, de Santé Canada, et des gouvernements provinciaux. La cote est accessible via Internet et autres médias. En lisant l’échelle, les Canadiens peuvent mieux se protéger de la pollution de l’air et prendre les mesures appropriées afin de limiter leur exposition. Environnement Canada s’applique à mesurer et à surveiller la qualité de l’air. Les scientifiques et les ingénieurs vérifient les émissions des véhicules et des moteurs afin qu’elles soient conformes aux normes canadiennes et étudient les technologies de contrôle des émissions. Ces expériences développent les connaissances permettant aux Canadiens de faire des choix avisés en ce qui a trait à l’environnement.

Marie-Josée Poitras : Section Recherche et mesure des émissions

Je suis Marie-Josée Poitras, nous sommes au laboratoire du groupe de la recherche et mesures des émissions. Nous mesurons des moteurs d’une grande variété…que ça soit pour une scie à chaîne ou pour un moteur d’avion. Nous avons deux programmes principaux, le premier programme est de soutenir le programme de conformité, c’est-à- dire que nous mesurons les émissions de moteurs de  véhicules, et nous vérifions si les résultats sont conforment aux règlements canadiens. Le deuxième est de supporter les recherches de technologie qui réduisent la pollution, comme les carburants alternatifs.

Narrateur : Environnement Canada est un chef de file dans la recherche des sciences environnementales. Ce travail important fait partie de notre mission qui consiste à mieux comprendre la pollution de l’air, ses niveaux, ses causes et ses origines, d’informer les Canadiens concernant l’air que nous respirons, et de rappeler à chacun qu’un air pur est meilleur pour tous! 

Les experts ensemble : Ce sont là quelques-unes des façons dont vous bénéficiez de la science d'Environnement Canada.