10. International Expositions (1851)

International Expositions

The first themed international exposition was held in London in 1851. The Exhibition of the Industry of All Nations was spearheaded by Queen Victoria’s husband Prince Albert and was held in the spectacular Crystal Palace in Hyde Park. During its six-month run, six million people viewed exhibits put on by 25 countries.

Canada’s contribution focused on stimulating trade by showcasing the wealth of its natural resources and their potential for development. William Logan played a leadership role in pulling together the Canadian exhibit, and he set about collecting the most impressive samples of economic minerals that he could find. This was the first major collection of Canadian mineral samples that the world had ever seen, and it was a very popular exhibit.

The Exhibition Committee commended the Canadian pavilion, noting “it is superior, so far as the mineral kingdom is concerned, to all countries that have forwarded their products to the exhibition.” Logan arranged a similar exhibit for the 1855 Exposition Universelle in Paris. Many honours came his way as a result of his efforts, foremost of which was a knighthood conferred by Queen Victoria at Windsor Castle in 1856.

Category: Government

Decade: 1850s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

10. Expositions internationales (1851)

Expositions internationales

La première exposition internationale thématique a eu lieu à Londres, en 1851. L’Exhibition of the Industry of All Nations (Exposition de l’industrie de toutes les nations) a été lancée par l’époux de la Reine Victoria, le Prince Albert, et a été tenue au spectaculaire Crystal Palace à Hyde Park. Durant les six mois de l’exposition, six millions de personnes ont vu les objets exposés par 25 pays.

La contribution du Canada visait la stimulation du commerce en mettant en valeur la richesse de ses ressources naturelles et leur potentiel de développement. William Logan a joué un rôle de chef de file en organisant l’exposition canadienne, et il s’est employé à recueillir les échantillons les plus impressionnants de minéraux économiques qu’il pouvait trouver. Il s’agissait de la première collection importante d’échantillons de minéraux canadiens que le monde voyait pour la première fois; l’exposition a été très populaire.

Le Comité de l’exposition a louangé le pavillon canadien, signalant que [traduction] « il est supérieur, en ce qui a trait au règne minéral, à celui de tous les pays qui ont fait parvenir leurs produits pour l’exposition ». Logan a organisé une exposition semblable dans le cadre de l’Exposition Universelle tenue à Paris en 1855. Les efforts de Logan lui ont valu de nombreux honneurs, dont le plus important a été le titre de chevalier conféré par la Reine Victoria, au Château de Windsor, en 1856.

Categorie : Gouvernement

Décennie : Années 1850

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :