27. Boundary Report (1875)

Boundary Report

In 1846, the 49th parallel was agreed upon as the continuation of the Canada-U.S. border west from Lake of the Woods to the Pacific Ocean. Little was known, however, by people of European origin about these western lands and their resource potential. The British North America Boundary Commission was created to fill in the gaps by carrying out a survey of the boundary area from 1872-1876.

In 1873, George Dawson accepted a position with the Commission. Born and schooled in Pictou, Nova Scotia, he had excelled at geological studies at McGill and at England’s Royal School of Mines, London. His appointment was as geologist and botanist, and Dawson, then 24 years of age, was responsible for reporting on the boundary attributes for an 800-mile prairie section between the Ontario border and British Columbia.

His report, published in 1875, shows why many consider him to be the finest natural scientist of his time. In its 379 pages, Dawson (back row, third from right) records everything from glacial geomorphology to lignite resources, with an assessment of the suitability of the region for settlement. That same year, he began his stellar career with the Geological Survey of Canada.

Category: Publications

Decade: 1870s

References

Dawson, G.M., 1875: Report on the Geology and Resources of the Region in the Vicinity of the Forty-Ninth Parallel, From the Lake of the Woods to the Rocky Mountains; Montreal, Dawson Brothers, 379 p. + plates, maps and cross-sections.

Jenkins, Phil, 2007: Beneath My Feet – The Memoirs of George Mercer Dawson; McClelland & Stewart Ltd., Toronto, 350 p.

Winslow-Spragge, Lois, 1993: No Ordinary Man: George Mercer Dawson 1849-1901: Natural Heritage/National History Inc., Toronto, Ontario, not paginated.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

27. Rapport sur la frontière (1875)

Rapport sur la frontière

En 1846, il a été convenu que le 49e parallèle était la continuation de la frontière canado-américaine à l'ouest du lac des Bois jusqu'à l'océan Pacifique. Toutefois, peu était connu par les gens d'origine européenne sur les terres de l’Ouest et leur potentiel en ressources. La Commission des frontières de l'Amérique du Nord britannique a été créée pour combler les lacunes en effectuant des levés de la région frontalière entre 1872 et 1876.

En 1873, George Dawson a accepté un poste à la Commission des frontières. Né et éduqué à Pictou, en Nouvelle‑Écosse, il avait excellé dans ses études géologiques à l'Université McGill et à la Royal School of Mines de Londres, en Angleterre. Dawson avait été recruté à titre de géologue et de botaniste et, alors âgé de 24 ans, il avait été chargé de rendre compte des attributs de la frontière d’une section dans les Prairies ayant 800 milles, entre la frontière ontarienne et la Colombie‑Britannique.

Son rapport, publié en 1875, montre pourquoi plusieurs pensent que Dawson était le meilleur spécialiste des sciences naturelles de son époque. Dans son ouvrage de 379 pages, Dawson (à l’arrière, troisième à partir de la droite) consigne tout, de la géomorphologie glaciaire aux ressources en lignite, à quoi il joint une évaluation de l’adéquation de la région à des fins de peuplement. C’est en 1875 qu’il commence sa brillante carrière à la Commission géologique du Canada.

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1870

Références

Dawson, G.M., 1875: Report on the Geology and Resources of the Region in the Vicinity of the Forty-Ninth Parallel, From the Lake of the Woods to the Rocky Mountains; Montreal, Dawson Brothers, 379 p. + plates, maps and cross-sections.

Jenkins, Phil, 2007: Beneath My Feet – The Memoirs of George Mercer Dawson; McClelland & Stewart Ltd., Toronto, 350 p.

Winslow-Spragge, Lois, 1993: No Ordinary Man: George Mercer Dawson 1849-1901: Natural Heritage/National History Inc., Toronto, Ontario, not paginated.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :