31. Department of the Interior (1877)

Department of the Interior

For its first 35 years, the Geological Survey of Canada reported to the Governor in Council and was financed through individual acts passed by Parliament about every five years. In 1877 that all changed when an act was passed “to make a better provision respecting the Geological and Natural History Survey of Canada and for the maintenance of the Museum in connection therewith.”

As a result, the Survey became part of the Department of the Interior and its long-term funding was stabilized. Its mission remained as before, with some key additions. The Survey was now officially charged with gathering specimens of all aspects of Canada’s natural history, something its geologists had been unofficially doing since 1842.

The act also strengthened the Survey’s museum responsibilities. It specified that the materials were to be collected for a “Canadian museum of natural history, mineralogy and geology” and that it “shall be open to the public every day except Sunday from 10 am to 4 pm.” It also indicated that a move of the Survey from Montreal to Ottawa was to be expected. The Survey’s name change to include natural history remained in effect until 1890.

Category: Government

Decade: 1870s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

31. Ministère de l'Intérieur (1877)

Ministère de l'Intérieur

Pendant les 35 premières années de son existence, la Commission géologique du Canada rendait compte au gouverneur en conseil et était financée au moyen de lois distinctes adoptées, environ tous les cinq ans, par le Parlement.  En 1877, tout cela a changé lorsqu'une loi a été adoptée en vue de prendre de meilleures dispositions au sujet de la Commission géologique et d'histoire naturelle du Canada et du maintien du musée connexe.

Conséquemment, la Commission devenait partie intégrante du ministère de l'Intérieur et son financement à long terme a été stabilisé. Sa mission demeurait la même, avec quelques ajouts clés. La Commission était maintenant officiellement chargée de recueillir des spécimens de tous les aspects de l'histoire naturelle du Canada, ce que ses géologues faisaient de façon non officielle depuis 1842.

La loi a également renforcé les responsabilités du musée de la Commission. Elle précisait que les spécimens devaient être recueillis aux fins d'un musée canadien d'histoire naturelle, de minéralogie et de géologie, qui serait ouvert au public chaque jour, à l'exception du dimanche, de 10 h à 16 h. La loi indiquait également qu'il fallait s'attendre à un déménagement de la Commission de Montréal à Ottawa. Le changement de nom de la Commission pour inclure l'histoire naturelle est demeuré en vigueur jusqu'en 1890.

Categorie : Gouvernement

Décennie : Années 1870

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :