52. First Government Observatory (1905)

First Government Observatory

In 1905, the Dominion Observatory opened in Ottawa’s Central Experimental Farm as the centrepiece of a collection of buildings purpose-built for science. Its co-founders William King and Otto Klotz were scientists of national repute, and they worked closely with architect David Ewart to ensure the building would serve as a world-class centre for astronomical and geophysical research.

The Observatory is now adjacent to busy Carling Avenue, but in 1905 this was a rural location remote from the city and its lights. Dark skies were an important consideration as the Observatory’s main purpose was to make astronomical observations for establishing precise time signals for use across Canada, and accurate latitude and longitudinal information. Geophysical research and earthquake monitoring were other important parts of the Observatory’s mandate – in fact, the Observatory’s seismographs recorded the 1906 San Francisco earthquake.   

In 1970, national timekeeping and astronomical activities were transferred to the National Research Council and the geophysical activities became the Earth Physics Branch, later merging with the Geological Survey of Canada. The Survey’s Canadian Hazards Information Service  still operates in a building adjacent to the Dominion Observatory.

Category: Buildings and Places

Decade: 1900s

References

Hodgson, J.H., 1989. The Heavens Above and the Earth Beneath, A History of the Dominion Observatories: part 1, to 1946; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1945, 193 p. doi:10.4095/130751

Hodgson, J.H., 1994. The Heavens Above and the Earth Beneath, A History of the Dominion Observatories: part 2, 1946 – 1970; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1945, 257 p. doi:10.4095/220394

Brooks, R. and Klatt, C., 2005. The Dominion Observatory 100th Anniversary. http://www.casca.ca/ecass/issues/2005-me/features/brooks/e-Cassi_DomObsV4.htm

ASTROLab, 2006. The Dominion Observatory; Virtual Museum Canada. http://astro-canada.ca/l_observatoire_federal-the_dominion_observatory-eng

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

52. Premier observatoire du gouvernement (1905)

Premier observatoire du gouvernement

En 1905, l'Observatoire fédéral a ouvert ses portes à la Ferme expérimentale centrale d'Ottawa – c’était la pièce maîtresse d’un ensemble d’immeubles construits spécifiquement à des fins scientifiques. Ses cofondateurs, William King et Otto Klotz, étaient des scientifiques de réputation nationale; ils avaient travaillé en étroite collaboration avec l'architecte David Ewart pour assurer que l'édifice serve de centre de calibre mondial pour la recherche astronomique et géophysique.

L'Observatoire est maintenant adjacent à l'achalandée avenue Carling, mais en 1905, il s'agissait d'un emplacement rural, éloigné de la ville et de ses lumières. Des cieux sombres étaient une considération importante car l'objectif principal de l'Observatoire était de faire des observations astronomiques pour établir des signaux horaires précis pour être utilisés partout au Canada et pour fournir des informations précises sur la latitude et la longitude. La recherche en géophysique et la surveillance des séismes étaient les autres parties importantes du mandat de l'Observatoire – en fait, les sismographes de l'Observatoire ont enregistré le séisme survenu à San Francisco en 1906.

En 1970, les activités chronométriques et astronomiques nationales ont été transférées au Conseil national de recherches du Canada, et le secteur des activités géophysiques est devenu la Direction de la physique du globe, qui a été fusionnée plus tard avec la Commission géologique du Canada. Le Service canadien d'information sur les risques de la Commission exerce toujours ses activités dans un immeuble adjacent à l'Observatoire fédéral.

Categorie : Immeubles et endroits

Décennie : Années 1900

Références

Hodgson, J.H., 1989. The Heavens Above and the Earth Beneath, A History of the Dominion Observatories: part 1, to 1946; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1945, 193 p. doi:10.4095/130751

Hodgson, J.H., 1994. The Heavens Above and the Earth Beneath, A History of the Dominion Observatories: part 2, 1946 – 1970; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1945, 257 p. doi:10.4095/220394

Brooks, R. et Klatt, C., 2005. The Dominion Observatory 100th Anniversary. http://www.casca.ca/ecass/issues/2005-me/features/brooks/e-Cassi_DomObsV4.htm

ASTROLab, 2006. The Dominion Observatory; Virtual Museum Canada. http://astro-canada.ca/l_observatoire_federal-the_dominion_observatory-fra

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :