171. Canada’s Extended Continental Shelf (2013)

Canada's Extended Continental Shelf

Following Canada’s ratification of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea in 2003, the Geological Survey of Canada was tasked with mapping the seafloor to determine the seaward extent of Canada’s continental shelves in the Atlantic and Arctic Oceans.

The new outer limit of the extended continental shelf in the Atlantic Ocean, based on the Survey research, was filed with the United Nations Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf in 2013. Pending international ratification, it could add 1.2 million square kilometers of offshore lands, giving Canada jurisdiction over the living and non-living natural resources found on and below the seafloor.

Starting in 2006, the Survey carried out fieldwork to collect geophysical data and geological samples from the Arctic Ocean using heavy-duty icebreakers, autonomous underwater vehicles, and field camps on the ice. Surveys in the eastern Arctic, in the vicinity of the North Pole, were undertaken in 2014, 2015, and 2016. During each of these surveys, the icebreakers stopped at the North Pole to celebrate the remarkable feat of reaching the ‘Top of the World,” and each time Survey researchers proudly raised the Canadian flag.

Category: Exploration

Decade: 2010s

Video: Canada-Sweden Arctic Expedition 2016

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

171. Plateau continental étendu du Canada (2013)

Plateau continental étendu du Canada

Après la ratification de la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer par le Canada en 2003, la Commission géologique du Canada a été chargée de cartographier le plancher océanique pour déterminer l’étendue vers le large des plateaux continentaux du Canada dans les océans Atlantique et Arctique.

La nouvelle limite extérieure du plateau continentale étendue dans l’océan Atlantique, basée sur les recherches de la Commission, a été déposée auprès de la Commission des limites du plateau continental, une commission des Nations Unies, en 2013. S’il y a ratification internationale, la nouvelle limite ajouterait 1,2 million de kilomètres carrés de terres extracôtières au Canada et lui conférerait la compétence sur les ressources naturelles vivantes et non vivantes qui se trouvent sur et sous le plancher océanique.

Depuis 2006, la Commission géologique du Canada réalise des travaux de terrain afin de recueillir des données géophysiques et des échantillons géologiques de l’océan Arctique en utilisant de puissants brise-glaces, des véhicules sous-marins autonomes et des camps de terrain sur la glace. Des levés dans l’est de l’Arctique, à proximité du pôle Nord, ont été réalisés en 2014, 2015 et 2016. Durant chacun de ces levés, les brise-glaces ont fait escale au pôle Nord pour célébrer l’exploit remarquable d’atteindre « le sommet du monde », et chaque fois les chercheurs de la Commission ont hissé fièrement le drapeau du Canada.

Categorie : Exploration

Décennie : Années 2010

Vidéo : Expédition polaire Canada-Suède 2016

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :