1. Letter of Recommendation (1842)

Letter of Recommendation

On September 10, 1841, the newly established Province of Canada voted to spend £1500 for a systematic geological survey of the province – an area encompassing most of the southern parts of Quebec and Ontario. The goal was to find out what mineral resources were available for economic development. The challenge was to find the right person to undertake the work.

Montreal-born William Edmond Logan, who had attended the University of Edinburgh and started his geological training in Wales, expressed interest in the position. Sir Charles Bagot, the Governor General of the Province of Canada, was responsible for the appointment, and he sought references to verify Logan’s suitability for the job.

Henry De la Beche, Director of the British Ordnance Geological Survey and one of the leading geologists of the day, had worked with Logan in Wales. He sent Bagot a letter of recommendation that was full of praise for Logan’s abilities. Logan was offered the job, and he accepted it by letter on April 14, 1842 – the date now used as the founding date of the Geological Survey of Canada.

Category: Government

Decade: 1840s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

1. Lettre de recommandation (1842)

Lettre de recommandation

Le 10 septembre 1841, la nouvellement établie Province du Canada a voté en faveur d'une dépense de 1 500 £ pour un levé géologique systématique de la province – un territoire englobant la plupart des régions du sud du Québec et de l'Ontario. L'objectif visé était de trouver quelles ressources minérales étaient disponibles pour le développement économique. Le défi consistait à trouver la bonne personne pour entreprendre le travail.

William Edmond Logan, né à Montréal, qui avait fréquenté l'Université d'Édimbourg et entrepris sa formation en géologie au pays de Galles, a exprimé son intérêt pour le poste. Sir Charles Bagot, gouverneur général de la Province du Canada et responsable du recrutement, a cherché des références pour vérifier si Logan avait les compétences nécessaires pour le travail.

Henry De la Beche, directeur de la British Ordnance Geological Survey (commission géologique sous ordonnance britannique) et l'un des éminents géologues de l'époque, avait travaillé avec Logan au pays de Galles. Il a envoyé à Bagot une lettre de recommandation remplie d'éloges pour les capacités de Logan. Le poste a été offert à Logan, qui l'a accepté dans une lettre datée du 14 avril 1842 – la date qui est maintenant utilisée comme date de fondation de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Categorie : Gouvernement

Décennie : Années 1840

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :