6. Logan's Notebooks (1846)

Logan's Notebooks

In their 1998 list of the 100 most important Canadians in history, Maclean’s magazine ranked Montreal-born William Edmond Logan (1798-1875) first among scientists and sixth overall. This added to the long list of Logan’s honours, which include Canada’s highest mountain named for him (Mount Logan, Yukon, is 5959 m tall) and a knighthood conferred in 1856 by Queen Victoria.

As founder and first director of the Geological Survey of Canada (1842-1869), Logan was a keen observer and interpreter of Canada’s uncharted geology. Through extensive field notebooks, the observations recorded by Logan and his staff formed the basis of the official reports and geological maps tabled in Parliament. These provided accurate details of the extent of mineral and energy resources in the Province of Canada that could support its economic growth.

Logan also kept personal journals that offer up his anecdotes about fieldwork and observations of life in Canada in the 19th century. These were written after a long day in the field and provide a fascinating record of early Canada, as well as a glimpse into the engaging and extraordinary personality of Logan.

Logan's Notebooks

Category: Fieldwork

Decade: 1840s

References

Smith, C.H. and Dyck, I., 2007. William E. Logan’s 1845 Survey of the Upper Ottawa Valley; Canadian Museum of Civilization, Mercury Series, History Paper 54, 256 p.

https://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/logan/021014-2300-e.html 

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

6. Carnets de Logan (1846)

Carnets de Logan

Dans sa liste de 1998 des 100 plus importants Canadiens de l'histoire, la revue Maclean’s a classé William Edmond Logan, né à Montréal (1798‑1875), au premier rang des scientifiques et sixième au classement général. Cela s’ajoute à la longue liste des honneurs de Logan, qui comprend le nom attribué à la plus haute montagne du Canada, le mont Logan (5 959 m d’altitude), au Yukon, ainsi que le titre de chevalier conféré en 1856 par la Reine Victoria.

À titre de fondateur et de premier directeur de la Commission géologique du Canada (1842‑1869), Logan était un observateur et interprète passionné de la géologie inexplorée du Canada. Grâce à ses substantielles notes prises sur le terrain, les observations faites par Logan et son personnel ont formé la base des rapports officiels et des cartes géologiques déposés au Parlement. Ceux‑ci ont fourni des détails précis sur l'étendue des ressources minérales et énergétiques de la Province du Canada qui pourraient supporter sa croissance économique.

Logan a également tenu des journaux personnels qui relatent ses anecdotes au sujet des travaux sur le terrain et ses observations de la vie au Canada au 19e siècle. Ces notes étaient rédigées après une longue journée passée sur le terrain, et elles fournissent un témoignage fascinant sur les débuts du Canada ainsi qu'un aperçu de la personnalité engageante et extraordinaire de Logan.

Carnets de Logan

Categorie : Travaux de terrain

Décennie : Années 1840

Références

Smith, C.H. et Dyck, I., 2007. William E. Logan’s 1845 Survey of the Upper Ottawa Valley; Canadian Museum of Civilization, Mercury Series, History Paper 54, 256 p.

http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/logan/021014-2300-f.html

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :