11. "Scobies Almanac" (1851)

Scobies Almanac

William Logan wrote the first history of the Geological Survey of Canada anonymously for a popular publication named Scobie’s Canadian Almanac and Repository of Useful Knowledge for the Year 1851. His authorship was confirmed by the discovery of a draft, unsigned manuscript in Logan’s hand by retired geologist Charles Smith in the late 1990s.

Robert Scobie was a prolific Toronto publisher who started a newspaper in 1838. The almanacs were first published in 1843, and they continue today as the Canadian Almanac and Directory. The 1851 almanac contained information on diverse topics about Canada, and was sold throughout the Province of Canada. Although Logan was submitting annual reports to the Legislature, he clearly felt the need to speak directly to the public. In the almanac entry he outlined the history of the Survey, the areas in Canada still unexplored, and the economic deposits discovered to date.

Central to the text was a pointed note about how ten people were employed in the geological survey for New York State as compared to just four in the Geological Survey of Canada – and how those four were responsible for an area seven times larger than their American counterparts.

Category: Publications

Decade: 1850s

Reference

Smith, C.S., 1999. William Logan’s 1850 history of the Geological Survey of Canada; Geoscience Canada, v. 26, no. 3, p. 111–120. https://journals.lib.unb.ca/index.php/GC/article/view/4010/4524

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

11. « Scobies Almanac » (1851)

Scobies Almanac

William Logan a rédigé la première histoire de la Commission géologique du Canada de façon anonyme pour une publication populaire intitulée Scobie’s Canadian Almanac and Repository of Useful Knowledge for the Year 1851. La découverte à la fin des années 1990, par Charles Smith, géologue retraité de la Commission géologique, d’une ébauche de manuscrit, non signée, rédigée de la main de Logan, a permis de confirmer que Logan en était l'auteur.

Robert Scobie était un prolifique éditeur de Toronto qui a lancé un journal en 1838. Les almanachs ont été publiés pour la première fois en 1843, et le sont toujours, sous le titre de Canadian Almanac and Directory. L'almanach de 1851 contenait des renseignements sur divers sujets ayant trait au Canada et était vendu dans toute la Province du Canada. Bien que Logan ait soumis des rapports annuels à la législature, il est clair qu'il éprouvait le besoin de parler directement au public. Dans son article dans l'almanach, il a dressé les grandes lignes de l'histoire de la Commission, des régions canadiennes encore inexplorées et des dépôts économiques découverts à ce jour.

Au cœur du texte, une note lourde de sous‑entendus signalait que dix personnes étaient employées par la commission géologique pour les levés de l'État de New York, comparativement à seulement quatre à la Commission géologique du Canada – et comment ces quatre personnes étaient responsables d'un territoire sept fois plus grand que celui de leurs homologues américains.

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1850

Référence

Smith, C.S., 1999. William Logan’s 1850 history of the Geological Survey of Canada; Geoscience Canada, v. 26, no. 3, p. 111–120. https://journals.lib.unb.ca/index.php/GC/article/view/4010/4524

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :