12. Canada's Oldest Scientific Library (1854)

Canada's Oldest Scientific Library

In the early years Logan supplied nearly all of the scientific books used by the Geological Survey of Canada’s staff. That changed in 1854 when the Legislative Select Committee on the Geological Survey voted to add £250 to the budget to ensure that a library “containing the best standard works and books of reference connected with geology and allied sciences” could be maintained. This marked the beginning of Canada’s oldest scientific library.

Successive part-time librarians oversaw the library until 1882, when the collection had grown to some 12,000 volumes, and John Thorburn was appointed as the first full-time librarian and curator. The library’s subsequent evolution is a fascinating story of buildings, books, and personalities, the development of librarianship as a profession, and the cooperative agreements by which it has developed a world-class collection.

Despite difficulties in organizing a rapidly growing collection, the pressures of space and funding, and occasional political interference, the collection has flourished and grown. It now comprises more than one million items including books, journals, maps, images, and an expanding digital collection.

Canada's Oldest Scientific Library

Category: Publications

Decade: 1850s

Reference

MacDonald, P. and Pleasant, R., 2004. Natural Resources Canada Library – Ottawa (Earth Sciences): 150 Years of Library Service.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

12. Bibliothèque scientifique la plus ancienne du Canada (1854)

Bibliothèque scientifique la plus ancien du Canada

Les premières années, Logan fournissait presque tous les ouvrages scientifiques utilisés par le personnel de la Commission géologique du Canada. Cela a changé en 1854, lorsque le Comité spécial de l'Assemblée législative sur la Commission géologique a voté pour ajouter 250 £ au budget afin d'assurer qu'une bibliothèque [traduction] « contenant les meilleurs livres et ouvrages de référence ayant trait à la géologie et aux sciences connexes » puisse être maintenue. Cela a marqué le début de la plus ancienne bibliothèque scientifique du Canada.

Des bibliothécaires à temps partiel avaient successivement supervisé la bibliothèque jusqu'en 1882 quand John Thorburn a été nommé premier bibliothécaire et conservateur à temps plein; la collection atteignait alors quelques 12 000 volumes. L'évolution subséquente de la bibliothèque est une histoire fascinante de bâtiments, de livres et de personnalités, d'évolution de la bibliothéconomie en une profession, et d'ententes de coopération grâce auxquelles la bibliothèque a établi une collection de calibre mondial.

En dépit des difficultés liées à l'organisation d'une collection rapidement croissante, des pressions en termes d'espace et de financement, et d'ingérence politique occasionnelle, la collection a prospéré et grandi. Elle comprend maintenant plus d'un million d'articles, dont des livres, des journaux, des cartes, des images et une collection numérique croissante.

Bibliothèque scientifique la plus ancien du Canada

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1850

Référence

MacDonald, P. et Pleasant, R., 2004. Natural Resources Canada Library – Ottawa (Earth Sciences): 150 Years of Library Service.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :