13. Madoc Meteorite (1854)

Madoc Meteorite

Canada’s first meteorite was discovered in 1854 near Madoc, Ontario, although the exact location and identity of the person who found it are unknown. We do know that when William Logan found the meteorite, it was propping up the corner of a barn. Most likely it was discovered during the clearing or ploughing of a field.

Logan’s offer to replace what he recognized as a valuable specimen with a “good square stone” was accepted by the barn’s owner, and Logan moved the meteorite to the Survey’s museum in Montreal. The Survey’s chemist, T. Sterry Hunt, examined it and determined that it was an alloy of iron with about 6% nickel. It was included in the display of Canada’s mineral resources at the 1855 Exposition Universelle in Paris.

The Madoc Meteorite weighs in at 167.8 kg and measures about 50 cm in diameter. Its acquisition marked the beginning of the National Meteorite Collection of Canada, which now has samples from 1100 meteorites including 52 of the 62 known Canadian meteorites. The Madoc Meteorite remains the largest single mass of any Canadian meteorite and the largest single Canadian iron meteorite mass.

Madoc Meteorite

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1850s

References

Weston, T.C., 1899. Reminiscences among the rocks: in connection with the Geological Survey of Canada; Warwick Bro’s & Rutter, Toronto, 328 p.

www.lpi.usra.edu/meetings/metsoc2002/pdf/5231 

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

13. Météorite de Madoc (1854)

Météorite de Madoc

La première météorite du Canada a été découverte en 1854 près de Madoc, en Ontario; cependant, l'emplacement exact et l'identité de la personne qui l'a trouvée sont inconnus. Nous savons que lorsque William Logan l’a vue pour la première fois elle soutenait le coin d'une grange. Il est fort probable qu'elle avait été découverte au cours du défrichage ou du labourage d'un champ.

L'offre de Logan, de remplacer ce qu'il a reconnu être un spécimen précieux par un [traduction] « bon bloc de pierre carré », a été acceptée par le propriétaire de la grange, et Logan a transporté la météorite au musée de la Commission, à Montréal. Le chimiste de la Commission, T. Sterry Hunt, l’a examinée et déterminé qu'il s'agissait d'un alliage de fer contenant environ 6 % de nickel. La météorite a été incluse dans l'exposition des ressources minérales du Canada à l'Exposition Universelle de 1855, à Paris.

La météorite de Madoc pèse 167,8 kg et mesure environ 50 cm de diamètre. Son acquisition a marqué le début de la Collection nationale de météorites du Canada, qui compte maintenant des échantillons de 1 100 météorites, dont 52 des 62 météorites canadiennes connues. La météorite de Madoc demeure la plus grosse masse unique de toutes les météorites canadiennes et la plus grosse masse unique de météorite ferreuse du Canada.

Météorite de Madoc

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1850

Références

Weston, T.C., 1899. Reminiscences among the rocks: in connection with the Geological Survey of Canada; Warwick Bro’s & Rutter, Toronto, 328 p.

www.lpi.usra.edu/meetings/metsoc2002/pdf/5231 

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :