19. Petroleum in 1861 (1861)

Petroleum in 1861

By 1861, petroleum, popularly called rock oil, was well known, although its origin was not. It could be found in many countries, and James Miller Williams had discovered and been producing oil in southwestern Ontario since 1857. But in those horse and buggy days, its use was limited to such things as waterproofing ships, lubricating machinery, and fuelling lamps.

In 1861, Thomas Sterry Hunt, a chemist and mineralogist with the Geological Survey of Canada, published a paper on the origins of petroleum. He correctly surmised that liquid petroleum is of organic origin within rock masses, and, on exposure, could change from liquid to solid. He further suggested that petroleum might have been formed from marine plants or animals in “deep water deposits from which atmospheric oxygen was excluded.” And finally, he suggested that the processes forming lignite and coal, which are derived from woody, land-based plant materials, were very different from the marine-based origins of petroleum.

Hunt also determined that bituminous shales – what we know today as hydrocarbon source rocks – when heated in a “tank wagon”, would yield substances quite like petroleum. All in all, this was a perceptive assessment of the origins of a substance that was to become vital to the world economy.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1860s

References

Hunt, T.S., 1861. Notes on the History of Petroleum or Rock Oil; Canadian Naturalist, v. VI, no. 4, July 1861, p. 1-15. http://hdl.handle.net/2027/aeu.ark:/13960/t9x078r2f 

Hunt, Thomas Sterry. http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/hunt_thomas_sterry_12E.html 

Powell, T.G., Macqueen, R.W., Barker, J.F., and Bree, D.G., 1984. Geochemical Character and Origin of Ontario Oils; Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists, v. 32, no. 3, p. 289–312.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

19. Le pétrole en 1861 (1861)

La pétrole en 1861

En 1861, le pétrole, appelé populairement l'huile de pierre, était bien connu, mais son origine ne l’était pas. On pouvait le trouver dans de nombreux pays, et James Miller Williams en avait découvert et le produisait dans la partie sud‑ouest de l'Ontario depuis 1857. Mais en ces temps de chevaux et de chariots, son utilisation était restreinte à des choses comme l'imperméabilisation des navires, la lubrification de machines et l'alimentation des lampes à huile.

En 1861, Thomas Sterry Hunt, chimiste et minéralogiste auprès de la Commission géologique du Canada, a publié un article sur les origines du pétrole. Il a supposé, correctement, que le pétrole liquide est d'origine organique à l'intérieur de masses rocheuses et que, exposé à l’air libre, il peut passer de liquide à solide. Il a également suggéré que le pétrole a pu avoir été formé par des plantes ou des animaux marins [traduction] « dans des dépôts d'eaux profondes desquels l'oxygène atmosphérique était exclu ». Et enfin, il a suggéré que le processus formant le lignite et le charbon, qui sont dérivés de matières végétales ligneuses d’origine terrestre, était très différent des origines marines du pétrole.

Hunt a également déterminé que les shales (ou schistes) bitumineux – que nous savons aujourd'hui être des roches mères d'hydrocarbures – produiraient, lorsque chauffés dans des « wagons-citernes », des substances très semblables au pétrole. Dans l'ensemble, il s'agissait d'une interprétation ou d’une idée perspicace sur les origines d'une substance qui allait devenir vitale pour l'économie mondiale.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1860

Références

Hunt, T.S., 1861. Notes on the History of Petroleum or Rock Oil; Canadian Naturalist, v. VI, no. 4, July 1861, p. 1-15. http://hdl.handle.net/2027/aeu.ark:/13960/t9x078r2f 

Hunt, Thomas Sterry. http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/hunt_thomas_sterry_12E.html 

Powell, T.G., Macqueen, R.W., Barker, J.F., et Bree, D.G., 1984. Geochemical Character and Origin of Ontario Oils; Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists, v. 32, no. 3, p. 289–312.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :