20. "Geology of Canada" (1863)

Geology of Canada

The Geology of Canada, published in 1863, was one of the most important accomplishments of the Geological Survey of Canada since its founding in 1842 (the book’s full title is Report of Progress from its Commencement to 1863). It was also a clear reflection of the talents and dedication of the small cadre of geologists that William Logan hired and inspired in their work to chart the geology and resources of Canada. It was co-authored by Logan, Alexander Murray, Thomas Sterry Hunt, and Elkanah Billings.

The 983-page Geology of Canada recorded everything known about Canadian geology, and it was acclaimed both at home and abroad for its content, style and accuracy. Sir William Dawson, Principal of McGill University and a leading Canadian geologist, summed up its contribution to Canada in a Toronto newspaper. He wrote, “The value of this work to Canada can scarcely be over-estimated…. The practical man has all that is known of what our country produces in every description of mineral wealth; and has thus a reliable guide to mining enterprise, and a protection against imposture.”

Category: Publications

Decade: 1860s

Reference

Logan, W.E., Murray, A., Hunt, T.S., and Billings, E., 1863. Geology of Canada. Report of Progress from its Commencement to 1863; Geological Survey of Canada, 983 p. [accompanied by an Atlas of Maps and Sections.] doi:10.4095/123563

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

20. « Geology of Canada » (1863)

Geology of Canada

Le livre Geology of Canada (Géologie du Canada), publié en 1863, était l'une des plus importantes réalisations de la Commission géologique du Canada depuis sa fondation en 1842 (l'intitulé complet du livre est Report of Progress from its Commencement to 1863). De plus, il reflétait clairement les talents et le dévouement du petit groupe de géologues que William Logan avait recrutés et inspirés dans leurs travaux de dresser la géologie et des ressources du Canada. Il a été co-écrit par Logan, Alexander Murray, Thomas Sterry Hunt et Elkanah Billings.

Les 983 pages de Geology of Canada consignaient tout ce qui était connu au sujet de la géologie canadienne. Il a été acclamé, tant au pays qu'à l'étranger, pour son contenu, son style et son exactitude. Sir William Dawson, directeur de l'Université McGill et éminent géologue canadien, a résumé la contribution de l'ouvrage au Canada dans un quotidien de Toronto. Il a écrit, [traduction] « La valeur de cet ouvrage pour le Canada peut difficilement être surestimée […] Chaque description de la richesse minérale fournit à l’homme pratique tout ce qui est connu au sujet de ce que notre pays produit; il dispose par conséquent d'un guide fiable sur les entreprises d'exploitation minière et d'une protection contre l'imposture. »

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1860

Références

Logan, W.E., Murray, A., Hunt, T.S. et Billings, E., 1863. Géologie du Canada. Rapport de progrès depuis son commencement jusqu'à 1863; Commission géologique du Canada, 1043 p. [accompagné d' un atlas de cartes et de coupes.] doi:10.4095/123564

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :