23. Mica Crystal (1871)

Mica Crystal

Mica is one of the non-metallic minerals and is used in the construction, chemical, electrical, and manufacturing industries. It was first discovered and mined in Canada in the 19th century, with many important mines operating within a 150-mile radius of Ottawa. There are several types of mica, and this specimen is phlogopite mica. Because it can withstand temperatures of 1000 degrees Celsius, phlogopite mica is used in the manufacture of insulators against extreme heat.

This phlogopite crystal was collected in 1894 in Hastings County, Ontario, by Charles Willimott. It was, by no means, the largest specimen ever found in Canada – that honour would go to a crystal found at the Lacey Mine, north of Kingston, Ontario.

Willimott was hired by the Geological Survey of Canada in 1871 to assist Thomas Weston, who had been responsible for the Survey’s museum since 1859. Weston was a noted collector of fossils for the museum, and Willimott was made responsible for collecting rock specimens. In the late 1870s, when the Survey’s rock and mineral sets became popular with educators, Willimott’s work shifted to collecting the materials needed to construct the sets and assembling them to meet the growing demand.

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1870s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

23. Cristal de mica (1871)

Cristal de mica

Le mica est un minéral non métallique qui est utilisé dans la construction, la chimie, l'électricité et les industries manufacturières. Il a été découvert et exploité pour la première fois au Canada au cours du 19e siècle avec de nombreuses mines importantes en exploitation dans un rayon de 150 milles d'Ottawa. Il y a plusieurs types de mica, et ce spécimen est celui du mica phlogopite. Parce qu'il peut résister à des températures de 1 000 degrés Celsius, le mica phlogopite est utilisé pour la fabrication d'isolants contre la chaleur extrême.

Ce cristal de phlogopite a été recueilli en 1894 dans le comté de Hastings, en Ontario, par Charles Willimott. Ce n’était certainement pas le plus gros spécimen jamais trouvé au Canada – cet honneur revient à un cristal découvert à la mine Lacey, au nord de Kingston, en Ontario.

En 1871, Willimott a été recruté par la Commission géologique du Canada pour aider Thomas Weston, qui était responsable du musée de la Commission depuis 1859. Weston était un réputé collectionneur de fossiles pour le musée, et Willimott a été chargé de recueillir des spécimens de roches. À la fin des années 1870, les ensembles de roches et de minéraux de la Commission sont devenus populaires auprès des éducateurs. Afin de répondre à la demande croissante, le travail de Willimott a consisté à collectionner les spécimens nécessaires pour construire les ensembles.

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1870

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :