26. The Canoe (1874)

The Canoe

The Geological Survey of Canada relied on the canoe for its early explorations in the north. For example, between1884 and 1905, Albert Low carried out nine gruelling field seasons, totalling more than 1450 days, travelling by canoe through the northern Quebec and Labrador wilderness. He is still held in awe by the modern-day canoeing community.

Birch-bark canoes of several designs, such as the Montagnais with its marked rocker for easier turning, were often used by the Survey. First Nations crew would typically paddle – their other field duties included setting up camp, hunting, and cooking. The geologists sat in the middle of the canoe where they could work.

The Algonkian design canoe and its successors, the durable 16- to19-foot varnished cedar strip or wood and canvas canoes by the Peterborough or Chestnut companies, were early workhorses. They typically weighed around 120 pounds and could carry 1,000 pounds of gear and three people. The 25-foot Rabaska canoe, which required four paddlers, was often used at the outset of long expeditions to carry extra supplies. Although the bush plane has now replaced the canoe for transportation, the Survey still uses lightweight aluminum canoes for geological fieldwork in some areas.

The Canoe

Category: Fieldwork

Decade: 1870s

References

Finkelstein, M. and Stone, J., 2004. Paddling the boreal forest – Rediscovering A. P. Low; Dundurn Press, 336 p.

Waugh, F.W., 1919. Canadian aboriginal canoes; Canadian Field Naturalist, v. 33, no. 2, p. 23–33.

Hodgins, B. and Hoyle, G., 1994. Canoeing north into the unknown — A record of canoe travel: 1874-1974; Natural History Press, Toronto, 278 p.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

26. Le canot (1874)

Le canot

La Commission géologique du Canada a utilisé le canot pour ses premières explorations dans le Nord. Par exemple, entre 1884 et 1905, Albert Low a mené neuf épuisantes saisons de terrain, totalisant plus de 1 450 jours, en voyageant en canot à travers la nature sauvage du nord du Québec et du Labrador. Ses expéditions sont encore admirées par la communauté contemporaine de canotage.

Des canots d'écorce de bouleau de diverses conceptions, comme celui des Montagnais avec sa quille à courbe prononcée pour aider à tourner, étaient souvent utilisés par la Commission. Habituellement, des membres des Premières Nations pagayaient. Ils avaient pour autres tâches sur le terrain l'établissement du camp, la chasse et la cuisine. Les géologues s’asseyaient dans le milieu du canot, où ils pouvaient travailler.

Le canot de conception algonquienne et ses successeurs, les canots durables de 16 à 19 pieds, fabriqués de bandes de cèdre vernies ou de bois et de canevas par les compagnies Peterborough et Chestnut, servaient de premières bêtes de somme. Ils pesaient typiquement environ 120 livres et pouvaient transporter 1 000 livres d'équipement et trois personnes. Le canot Rabaska de 25 pieds, qui nécessitait quatre pagayeurs, était souvent utilisé au début de longues expéditions pour transporter des approvisionnements supplémentaires. Bien que les avions de brousse aient maintenant remplacé le canot pour le transport, la Commission utilise toujours des canots d'aluminium légers pour les travaux géologiques de terrain dans certaines régions.

Le canot

Categorie : Travaux de terrain

Décennie : Années 1870

Références

Finkelstein, M. et Stone, J., 2004. Paddling the boreal forest – Rediscovering A. P. Low; Dundurn Press, 336 p.

Waugh, F.W., 1919. Canadian aboriginal canoes; Canadian Field Naturalist, v. 33, no. 2, p. 23–33.

Hodgins, B. et Hoyle, G., 1994. Canoeing north into the unknown — A record of canoe travel: 1874-1974; Natural History Press, Toronto, 278 p.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :