30. Maps in 19th Century Canada (1870s)

Maps in 19th Century Canada

To make a geological map, you need a topographical map as a base. In the 19th century, however, Canada’s topography was mostly uncharted. This meant early Geological Survey of Canada geologists had the extra work of making them. As William Logan noted, “In older countries the labours of topographers and geographers have preceded those of the geologist.” This added task slowed the portrayal of Canada’s geology and the discovery of its resources, but produced excellent maps and ultimately led to the establishment of systematic topographical mapping by surveyors.

These brass instruments were used on the prairies in the 19th century to plot the fixed locations on Earth’s surface needed to make the maps. The solar compass (top) uses the sun’s direction to locate positions. It was used from the mid-19th century until late-20th century, yielding very accurate results. The Wye level (bottom), with its telescope and magnetic north compass, was used to determine precise elevation differences and establish benchmarks.

Using these and other instruments for measuring distances, the early Survey geologists triangulated their way across the landscape – an arduous process compared to the convenience of today’s satellite-based global positioning systems.

Category: Maps

Decade: 1870s

References

Logan, W.E., Murray, A., Hunt, T.S., and Billings, E., 1863. Geology of Canada. Report of Progress from its Commencement to 1863; Geological Survey of Canada, 983 p. [accompanied by an Atlas of Maps and Sections.] doi:10.4095/123563

Logan, W., Murray, A., Hunt, T.S., and Billings, E., 1865. Geology of Canada. Report of Progress from its commencement to 1863. Atlas of Maps and Sections, 42 p. + maps, sections. doi:10.4095/123565

The Surveyors Basic Tools: www.surveyhistory.org/the_surveyor's_basic_tools.htm

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

30. Cartes du Canada du 19e siècle (Années 1870)

Cartes du Canada du 19e siècle

Pour dresser une carte géologique, il faut une carte topographique comme base. Toutefois, au 19e siècle, la topographie du Canada était largement non cartographiée. Par conséquent, au début, les géologues de la Commission géologique du Canada avaient pour tâche supplémentaire de dresser de telles cartes. Comme l'a signalé William Logan, [traduction] « Dans les vieux pays, les travaux des topographes et des géographes précédaient ceux du géologue. » Cette tâche supplémentaire a ralenti la représentation géologique du Canada et la découverte de ses ressources, mais a produit d'excellentes cartes et a, en définitive, mené à la cartographie topographique systématique par les arpenteurs.

Ces instruments en laiton ont été utilisés dans les Prairies au cours du 19e siècle pour déterminer les localisations fixes sur la surface de la Terre nécessaires pour dresser les cartes. La boussole solaire (en haut) utilise la direction du soleil pour localiser des emplacements. Elle a été utilisée du milieu du 19e siècle jusqu'à la fin du 20e siècle et a produit des résultats très précis. Le niveau Wye (au bas), avec son télescope et sa boussole axée sur le nord magnétique, a été utilisé pour déterminer des écarts d'élévations précis et établir des repères.

Au moyen de ces instruments, et d'autres, pour mesurer les distances, les premiers géologues de la Commission ont triangulé leur itinéraire à travers le paysage – un processus ardu par comparaison à la commodité des systèmes de localisation mondiaux par satellites d'aujourd'hui.

Categorie : Cartes

Décennie : Années 1870

Références

Logan, W.E., Murray, A., Hunt, T.S. et Billings, E., 1863. Géologie du Canada. Rapport de progrès depuis son commencement jusqu'à 1863; Commission géologique du Canada, 1043 p. [accompagné d' un atlas de cartes et de coupes.] doi:10.4095/123564

Logan, W.E., Murray, A., Hunt, T.S. et Billings, E., 1865. Géologie du Canada. Rapport de progrès depuis son commencement jusqu'à 1863. Atlas de cartes et de coupes, 46 p. + cartes, coupes. doi:10.4095/123566

The Surveyors Basic Tools: www.surveyhistory.org/the_surveyor's_basic_tools.htm

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :