34. New Headquarters (1881)

New Headquarters

Even though Logan had spent his own money improving the Geological Survey of Canada’s Montreal headquarters, it was now part of the Department of the Interior and pressure grew to relocate to Ottawa. This, indeed, had been strongly hinted at in the 1877 act that had made the Survey part of government.

In Montreal, there was strong opposition to the move from both the mining industry and the public, sparking questions in Parliament and a media storm of protests. The Survey’s second director, Alfred Selwyn, who had been handpicked by Logan as his successor, was tasked with moving the whole operation to Ottawa.

The new home at 541 Sussex was a former hotel located just east of the Parliament Buildings. In 1881, the Survey moved in with 2000 boxes and barrels weighing over 125 tons, full of rocks, minerals, fossils, and other natural history specimens, as well as anthropological artifacts.

New Headquarters

The new headquarters became a popular destination for visitors. Attendance at the Survey museum, which opened on December 1, 1881, grew rapidly. Although the Survey was to later move to more suitable buildings in Ottawa, there were Survey employees working at 541 Sussex until the 1950s.

Category: Buildings and Places

Decade: 1880s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

34. Nouveaux bureaux (1881)

Nouveaux bureaux

Même si Logan avait dépensé son propre argent pour améliorer le bureau de Montréal de la Commission géologique du Canada, celle‑ci faisait maintenant partie du ministère de l'Intérieur et les pressions se sont accrues pour la relocaliser à Ottawa. En fait, on l’avait fortement évoqué dans la loi de 1877 qui avait fait de la Commission une partie du gouvernement.

À Montréal, il y avait une forte opposition au déménagement, tant de la part de l'industrie minière que du public. Cette opposition a engendré des questions au Parlement et une tempête de protestations dans les médias. Le deuxième directeur de la Commission, Alfred Selwyn, qui avait été mûrement sélectionné par Logan pour être son successeur, a été chargé de déménager l'établissement au complet à Ottawa.

Le nouvel emplacement, au 541, rue Sussex, était un ancien hôtel situé juste à l'est des édifices du Parlement. En 1881, la Commission a déménagé avec 2 000 boîtes et barils pesant plus de 125 tonnes, remplis de roches, de minéraux, de fossiles et d'autres spécimens d'histoire naturelle, ainsi que des artefacts anthropologiques.

Nouveaux bureaux

Le nouveau siège social est devenu une destination populaire pour les visiteurs. Les visites du musée de la Commission, qui a ouvert ses portes le 1er décembre 1881, ont augmenté rapidement. Même si la Commission devait déménager plus tard dans des édifices plus appropriés à Ottawa, des employés de la Commission ont continué à travailler au 541, rue Sussex jusque dans les années 1950.

Categorie : Immeubles et endroits

Décennie : Années 1880

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :