35. National Museum (1881)

National Museum

As early as 1881, director Alfred Selwyn (1869-1895) was referring to the Geological Survey of Canada’s museum in Ottawa as the “National Museum.” Its rapidly expanding collections covered all aspects of natural history (rocks, minerals, fossils, flora and fauna), and included an impressive range of anthropological artifacts – all collected by Survey staff as they explored Canada.

The collections fed the public’s growing curiosity about the wonders of a new and expanding Canada, with attendance increasing every year. The top annual attendance in Montreal had been 1,700 in 1876. Annual attendance in Ottawa increased from 9,500 in 1882 to a whopping 31,500 by 1896.

Like Selwyn, George Dawson, the Survey’s third director (1895-1901), lobbied hard for a more spacious building to house the museum and the endless stream of material flowing into Ottawa from all the Survey field parties. He pointed out that the building was a firetrap, putting irreplaceable national collections at risk.

Finally, on February 8, 1901, money was allocated by Parliament for a new museum building. Tragically, Dawson was to die within the month, and subsequent directors stickhandled the construction project through a myriad of difficulties. In 1911, the Survey moved into its new purpose-built home, the Victoria Memorial Museum Building.

Category: Buildings and Places

Decade: 1880s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

35. Musée national (1881)

Musée national

Dès 1881, le directeur Alfred Selwyn (1869‑1895) faisait référence au musée de la Commission géologique du Canada à Ottawa comme étant le « Musée national ». Ses collections en croissance rapide couvraient tous les aspects de l'histoire naturelle (roches, minéraux, fossiles, flore et faune) et comprenaient une gamme impressionnante d'artefacts anthropologiques – tous recueillis par des membres du personnel de la Commission au cours de leur exploration du Canada.

Les collections nourrissaient la curiosité croissante du public pour les merveilles d'un Canada nouveau et en pleine expansion, et le nombre de visites augmentait chaque année. Alors que le nombre maximum de visites annuelles à Montréal s'établissait à 1 700 en 1876, le nombre annuel de visites à Ottawa est passé de 9 500 en 1882 à un impressionnant nombre de 31 500 en 1896.

Tout comme Selwyn, George Dawson, le troisième directeur de la Commission (1895‑1901), a exercé de fortes pressions en faveur d'un immeuble plus spacieux pour abriter le musée et le flux interminable de matériaux arrivant à Ottawa en provenance de toutes les équipes de terrain de la Commission. Dawson a signalé que l'immeuble était un nid‑à‑feu, mettant à risque des collections nationales irremplaçables.

Enfin, le 8 février 1901, le Parlement a affecté des fonds pour un nouveau musée. Tragiquement, Dawson allait décéder au cours du mois, et les directeurs subséquents ont géré le projet de construction à travers une myriade de difficultés. En 1911, la Commission a déménagé dans sa nouvelle demeure construite spécialement à son intention, à savoir l'édifice du musée commémoratif Victoria.

Categorie : Immeubles et endroits

Décennie : Années 1880

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :