37. Albertosaurus (1884)

Albertosaurus

Few dinosaurs are as awe-inspiring as Tyrannosaurus rex, but one that comes close is Albertosaurus (meaning Alberta lizard). In 1884, Geological Survey of Canada geologist Joseph Tyrrell discovered an Albertosaurus skull in the badlands along the Red Deer River. This was the first time the world had seen Albertosaurus. It was a chance find as Tyrrell was exploring the river valley cliffs for coal. His milestone discovery marked the beginning of a grand age of dinosaur exploration and research in this now famous area.

Albertosaurus lived about 70 million years ago in western North America and, although smaller than its close relative Tyrranosaurus rex, was a fearsome carnivorous hunter. As a two-legged walker and runner (at speeds approaching 30 km/hour), the three-metre tall Albertosaurus was able to see and quickly chase down potential prey. Albertosaurus skeletons are commonly found in groups, both juveniles and adults, suggesting that these animals socialized and hunted in packs.

The richness and quality of the dinosaur-bearing bone beds of Alberta’s badlands are now internationally renowned, drawing many visitors to the Royal Tyrrell Museum of Paleontology, which opened in 1985 and is a fitting tribute to the discoverer of Albertosaurus.

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1880s

Reference

http://dinopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Albertosaurus

www.tyrrellmuseum.com

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

37. Albertosaurus (1884)

Albertosaurus

Peu de dinosaures sont aussi impressionnants que Tyrannosaurus rex, mais celui qui s'en rapproche est Albertosaurus (qui signifie lézard de l'Alberta). En 1884, Joseph Tyrrell, géologue de la Commission géologique du Canada, a découvert un crâne d'Albertosaurus dans les badlands longeant la rivière Red Deer. C'était la première fois que le monde voyait Albertosaurus. Il s'agissait d'une découverte fortuite car Tyrrell explorait les falaises de la vallée de la rivière à la recherche de charbon. Sa découverte révolutionnaire a marqué le début d'une grandiose époque d'exploration et de recherche de dinosaures dans cette région maintenant célèbre.

Albertosaurus a vécu il y a environ 70 millions d'années dans l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord et, bien qu'il soit de plus petite taille que son proche parent Tyrranosaurus rex, il était un redoutable chasseur carnivore. Marcheur et coureur à deux pattes (à des vitesses s'approchant de 30 km/heure), Albertosaurus mesurait trois mètres de haut et il pouvait voir et pourchasser rapidement des proies potentielles. Les squelettes d'Albertosaurus se trouvent couramment en groupes, tant juvéniles qu'adultes, laissant penser que ces animaux socialisaient et chassaient en bandes.

La richesse et la qualité des lits contenant des os de dinosaures dans les badlands de l'Alberta sont maintenant internationalement reconnues, attirant de nombreux visiteurs au Royal Tyrrell Museum of Paleontology, qui a ouvert ses portes en 1985 et qui rend un hommage approprié au découvreur d’Albertosaurus.

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1880

Référence

http://dinopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Albertosaurus

www.tyrrellmuseum.com

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :