39. Burgess Shale (1886)

Burgess Shale 1
Burgess Shale 1

The Burgess Shale in British Columbia’s Yoho National Park is one of the world’s most important fossil deposits, providing an intriguing glimpse of the diverse and unusual marine life of 505 million years ago. It is especially renowned for the superb preservation of soft-bodied animals, including arthropods, sponges, and worms, that would otherwise be unknown.

Fossils in the Burgess Shale area were first noticed in the late 19th century, probably by workers building the Canadian Pacific Railway. In 1886, the Geological Survey of Canada’s Richard McConnell, while unravelling the geology of the Canadian Rockies, confirmed the existence of abundant fossils on Mount Stephen, which is near the main Burgess Shale site. Study of the fossils was begun in the late 19th century by Canadian paleontologists, such as the Survey’s Joseph Whiteaves, who described one of the Burgess Shale’s most iconic fossils, Anomalocaris, in 1892, from a partial specimen.

In 1907, the American paleontologist Charles Walcott travelled to Mount Stephen and, during his studies, discovered and named the Burgess Shale site. Another American paleontologist, Percy Raymond, worked there in the 1930s, and starting in the 1960s researchers from the Survey, Cambridge University, and the Royal Ontario Museum carried out major studies.

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1880s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

39. Schistes de Burgess (1886)

Schistes de Burgess 1
Schistes de Burgess 2

Les shales (ou schistes) de Burgess du Parc national du Canada Yoho de la Colombie‑Britannique sont l'un des plus importants dépôts de fossiles au monde. Ils donnent un aperçu intrigant de la vie marine inhabituelle et diversifiée d'il y a 505 millions d'années. Les shales sont renommés en particulier pour l’excellente préservation d'animaux à corps mou, dont des arthropodes, des éponges et des vers qui, autrement, seraient inconnus.

Les fossiles de la région des shales de Burgess ont été signalés pour la première fois à la fin du 19e siècle, probablement par des travailleurs qui construisaient le chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique. En 1886, alors qu'il débrouillait la géologie des Rocheuses canadiennes, Richard McConnell, de la Commission géologique du Canada, a confirmé l'existence d'abondants fossiles sur le mont Stephen, qui est situé près du site principal des shales de Burgess. L'étude des fossiles a été entreprise à la fin du 19e siècle par des paléontologues canadiens, comme Joseph Whiteaves, de la Commission, qui a décrit l'un des fossiles les plus emblématiques des shales de Burgess, Anomalocaris, en 1892, à partir d’un spécimen incomplet.

En 1907, le paléontologue américain Charles Walcott s'est rendu au mont Stephen et a, au cours de ses travaux, découvert et nommé le site des shales de Burgess. Un autre paléontologue américain, Percy Raymond, a travaillé sur le site au cours des années 1930 et, à compter des années 1960, des chercheurs de la Commission, de l'Université Cambridge et du musée Royal de l'Ontario y ont mené d'importantes études.

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1880

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :