41. Images of Early Canada (1880s)

Images of Early Canada 1

The introduction of dry glass photographic plates in the 1870s to replace the time-consuming wet plate or collodion process made the use of photography in the field much easier.

Geological Survey of Canada geologists, including George Dawson, Alfred Selwyn, Joseph Tyrrell, and Albert Low, with their diverse interests and responsibilities for every aspect of natural history, used photography to record much of historical as well as scientific merit during their wide-ranging travels. Their photographs are an invaluable visual journal of their exploration across Canada as its boundaries grew, as well as their interactions with the First Nations people they encountered.

More than 150 of these photographs, for which negatives still exist in the Survey’s extensive photo library, were assembled in 1967 in a special publication called Early Canada to mark Canada’s Centennial. The images provide an intriguing window into the Canada of the late 19th century and the work of Canada’s pioneering geologists.

Images of Early Canada 2

Category: Publications

Decade: 1880s

Reference

Hall, E. (comp.), 1967. Early Canada, a collection of historical photographs by officers of the Geological Survey of Canada / Le Canada d’hier, une collection de photographies historiques prises par le personnel de la Commission géologique du Canada; Geological Survey of Canada, Miscellaneous Report 14, 137 p. doi:10.4095/119934

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

41. Images des débuts du Canada (1880s)

Images des débuts du Canada 1

L'introduction de la photographie sur plaque de verre sèche au cours des années 1870, pour remplacer le long processus à plaque humide ou à collodion, a beaucoup facilité la photographie sur le terrain.

Les géologues de la Commission géologique du Canada, dont George Dawson, Alfred Selwyn, Joseph Tyrrell et Albert Low, avec leurs divers intérêts et responsabilités pour tous les aspects de l'histoire naturelle, ont utilisé la photographie pour enregistrer ce qu’ils ont observé de valeur historique et scientifique au cours de leurs voyages de grande envergure. Leurs photographies constituent un journal visuel inestimable de leur exploration à travers le Canada au fil de l'expansion de ses frontières, ainsi que de leurs interactions avec les membres des Premières Nations qu'ils ont rencontrés.

Plus de 150 de ces photographies, dont il existe encore des négatifs dans la vaste bibliothèque photographique de la Commission, ont été regroupées en 1967 dans une publication spéciale intitulée Early Canada / Le Canada d’hier, pour marquer le Centenaire du Canada. Les images ont ouvert une fenêtre fascinante sur le Canada de la fin du 19e siècle et les travaux des géologues pionniers du Canada.

Images des débuts du Canada 2

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1880

Référence

Hall, E. (comp.), 1967. Le Canada d’hier, une collection de photographies historiques prises par le personnel de la Commission géologique du Canada / Early Canada, a collection of historical photographs by officers of the Geological Survey of Canada; Commission géologique du Canada, Rapport divers 14, 137 p. doi:10.4095/119934

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :