42. Oil Sands (1888)

Oil Sands

Oil sands consist of grains of sand coated with a thin layer of water, which in turn is coated with bitumen and, in some cases, clay. Bitumen is highly viscous, meaning that it is like syrup in its consistency and, as a result, flows sluggishly, if at all. It cannot be recovered unless first heated. 

Alberta contains extensive areas with very thick oil-sands deposits, largely concentrated in three regions: Athabasca, Cold Lake, and Peace River. First Nations peoples had long used the bitumen mixed with tree-gum to coat and waterproof their canoes.

The first European to take note of the oil sands was the fur trader Peter Pond in 1778. In 1875 and 1882, the Survey was exploring in oil sands territory. Robert Bell, who later became acting director of the Survey (1901-1906), led the 1882 expedition. In a prescient pronouncement in 1888, he stated: “The evidence… points to the existence in the Athabasca and Mackenzie valleys of the most extensive petroleum field in America, if not the world.” Bell was not exaggerating, as we now know that the Athabasca Oil Sands are the world’s largest source of petroleum.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1880s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

42. Sables bitumineux (1888)

Sables bitumineux

Les sables bitumineux sont composés de grains de sable recouverts d'une mince couche d'eau qui, à son tour, est recouverte de bitume et, dans certains cas, d'argile. Le bitume est très visqueux, ce qui signifie qu'il a une consistance sirupeuse; il s'écoule donc lentement, voire pas du tout. Il ne peut pas être extrait à moins d'être d'abord chauffé.

L'Alberta contient de grandes régions ayant d'épais dépôts de sables bitumineux, largement concentrés dans trois régions : Athabasca, Cold Lake et rivière de la Paix. Les peuples des Premières Nations utilisaient depuis longtemps du bitume mélangé avec de la gomme d'arbres pour enrober et imperméabiliser leurs canots.

Le premier Européen à prendre note des sables bitumineux était Peter Pond, commerçant de fourrures, en 1778. En 1875 et en 1882, la Commission explorait le territoire des sables bitumineux. Robert Bell, qui, par la suite, est devenu directeur intérimaire de la Commission (1901‑1906), a dirigé l'expédition de 1882. En 1888, dans une déclaration visionnaire, il a affirmé que : [traduction] « Les preuves […] convergent vers l'existence, dans les vallées de l'Athabasca et du Mackenzie, du champ de pétrole le plus vaste de l'Amérique, sinon du monde. » Bell n'exagérait pas, puisque nous savons aujourd'hui que les sables bitumineux de l'Athabasca sont la plus importante source de pétrole au monde.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1880

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :