44. Pillars in Potsdam Sandstone (1888)

Pillars in Potsdam Sandstone

When cylindrical pillars in Potsdam sandstones in eastern Ontario and northern New York were described in the 1850s, many imaginative interpretations arose. Creationists claimed them as drowned trees and proof of the Old Testament flood. Geological Survey of Canada founder William Logan weighed in with his opinion that they were not fossils at all.

In 1888, the Survey’s second director, Alfred Selwyn, examined spectacular pillars in Potsdam sandstone in the Hughes Road quarry north of Kingston. At his request, the Survey’s museum assistant, Thomas Weston, and government photographer W.J. Topley visited the quarry, and Weston published illustrations of the impressive tree-like structures. Selwyn and Weston, like Logan, dismissed them as fossils, and interpreted the pillars as concretions.

These remarkable cylindrical structures still generate controversy, but subsequent theoretical, experimental, and field studies have concluded that they are evidence of water escape from fluidized sand conduits. Impressive pillars can still be seen at the Hughes Road quarry, and the site continues to be a stop on geological field trips. Samples of pillars from other nearby Ontario sites are on display at Queens University’s Miller Museum and at the Charleston Lake Discovery Centre.

Category: Buildings and Places

Decade: 1880s

References

Dawson, J.W., 1889. Remarks by the President on certain Ancient Concretions, Canadian Record of Science, January 1889, p. 293. [Refer also to posts by Christopher Brett at http://fossilslanark.blogspot.ca for discussions of 1850’s publications by Franklin B. Hough.]

Weston, T.C., 1899. Reminiscences among the rocks: in connection with the Geological Survey of Canada; Warwick Bro’s & Rutter, Toronto, 328 p. [autobiography; provides an excellent account of this trip from historic Kingston.]

Cushing, H.P., Fairchild, H.L., Ruedemann, R., and Smyth, C.H., 1910. Geology of the Thousand Islands Region; New York State Museum, Bulletin 145.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

44. Piliers dans les grès de Potsdam (1888)

Piliers dans les grès de Potsdam

Lorsqu’on a décrit au cours des années 1850 des piliers cylindriques dans les grès de Potsdam de l'est de l'Ontario et du nord de New York, de nombreuses interprétations imaginatives ont été formulées. Les créationnistes affirmaient qu'il s'agissait d'arbres noyés et d’une preuve du déluge de l'Ancien Testament. Le fondateur de la Commission géologique du Canada, William Logan, a exprimé son opinion à savoir qu'il ne s'agissait pas du tout de fossiles.

En 1888, le deuxième directeur de la Commission, Alfred Selwyn, a examiné de spectaculaires piliers du grès de Potsdam dans la carrière de Hughes Road, au nord de Kingston. À sa demande, l'adjoint au musée de la Commission, Thomas Weston, et le photographe du gouvernement, W. J. Topley, ont visité la carrière, et Weston a publié des illustrations des impressionnantes structures en forme d’arbres. Comme Logan, Selwyn et Weston les ont rejetées comme fossiles, et ont interprété les piliers comme étant des concrétions.

Ces remarquables structures cylindriques suscitent encore la controverse, mais des études théoriques, expérimentales et sur le terrain subséquentes ont mené à la conclusion que les piliers sont le résultat de la fuite d'eau de conduits de sable fluidisé. On peut encore voir des piliers impressionnants dans la carrière de Hughes Road, et le site continue d'être une escale pour les excursions géologiques. Des échantillons de piliers provenant d'autres sites avoisinants de l'Ontario sont exposés au musée Miller de l'Université Queens et au centre de découverte du lac Charleston.

Categorie : Immeubles et endroits

Décennie : Années 1880

Références

Dawson, J.W., 1889. Remarks by the President on certain Ancient Concretions, Canadian Record of Science, January 1889, p. 293. [Voir aussi des articles de Christopher Brett à l’adresse http://fossilslanark.blogspot.ca, discutant des publications de Franklin B. Hough dans les années 1850.]

Weston, T.C., 1899. Reminiscences among the rocks: in connection with the Geological Survey of Canada; Warwick Bro’s & Rutter, Toronto, 328 p. [autobiographie donnant un excellent compte-rendu de ce voyage qui a débuté à Kingston.]

Cushing, H.P., Fairchild, H.L., Ruedemann, R. et Smyth, C.H., 1910. Geology of the Thousand Islands Region; New York State Museum, Bulletin 145.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :