45. Notman Composite Photograph (1888)

Notman Composite Photograph

Trained as an artist, Scottish-born William Notman came to Canada in 1856 and set up a photographic studio in Montreal. Commissioned to document the construction of Montreal’s Victoria Bridge in 1858, his pictures so impressed Queen Victoria that she named him “Photographer to the Queen”. He quickly became a huge success and was the photographer of choice for Canadian society. By the 1870s he had a staff of over 50 and 14 branch studios across Canada.

One of his major innovations was composite photography of groups of people, often appearing in outdoor settings. This involved the creation of master drawings, painted backdrops, and individually photographed poses of each person with lighting and shadows. A cut-out of each individual was pasted into a photograph of the backdrop for the master negative.

For his photograph of the Geological Survey of Canada staff in 1888, the backdrop was the museum at 541 Sussex in Ottawa. The Director, Alfred Selwyn, and his staff are seen grouped around a large table. Former staff members, such as William Logan, Elkanah Billings, and Alexander Murray, were included through the device of having their portraits on the walls.

Category: Government

Decade: 1880s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

45. Photographie composite de Notman (1888)

Photographie composite de Notman

William Notman, né en Écosse et formé en tant qu'artiste, est arrivé au Canada en 1856 et a établi un studio de photographie à Montréal. Chargé de documenter la construction du pont Victoria de Montréal en 1858, ses photographies ont tellement impressionné la Reine Victoria qu'elle l'a nommé « photographe de la Reine ». Notman a connu rapidement un succès énorme et a été le photographe de choix pour la haute société canadienne. Au cours des années 1870, il avait plus de 50 employés et comptait 14 studios de photographie partout au Canada.

L'une des principales innovations de Notman était la photographie composite de groupes de personnes, figurant souvent dans des contextes extérieurs. Cette façon de faire nécessitait la création de dessins maîtres, de toiles de fond peintes et de photographies individuelles de chacun des personnages posant avec éclairage et ombres. Le découpage de chacun des personnages était collé sur une photographie de la toile de fond pour produire le négatif maître.

Pour cette photographie du personnel de la Commission géologique du Canada prise en 1888, la toile de fond était le musée situé au 541, rue Sussex, à Ottawa. Le directeur, Alfred Selwyn, et son personnel figurent en groupe autour d'une grande table. D'anciens membres du personnel, tels que William Logan, Elkanah Billings et Alexander Murray, ont été inclus en plaçant leurs portraits sur les murs.

Categorie : Gouvernement

Décennie : Années 1880

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :