46. Ice Sheets (1890s)

Ice Sheets

Over the past 2.6 million years, most of Canada has been periodically covered by ice during what is called the Ice Age. This was a period of extreme climatic fluctuations that caused the ice to advance and retreat cyclically, and the ice thickness to vary considerably. At times, ice sheets several kilometres thick covering areas the size of Greenland spawned glaciers that extended out like tentacles, molding and radically changing the landscape. The idea that glaciers and ice sheets once covered huge areas of North America was contentious until the mid-19th century. 

Fieldwork by pioneering Geological Survey of Canada geologists such as William Logan, Joseph Tyrrell, and George Dawson provided compelling evidence for the presence of ice over much of Canada. Indeed, it was Dawson who recognized and named the Cordilleran and Laurentide ice sheets – terms still in use today. 

Between 20,000 and 18,000 years ago, the Cordilleran ice sheet covered most of Canada west of the Prairies. It attained a thickness of about two kilometres, and it briefly fused with the Laurentide ice sheet in the east. The retreat of the ice sheets was rapid, geologically speaking, taking only about 4,000 years.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1890s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

46. Nappes glaciaires (1890s)

Nappes glaciaires

Au cours des 2,6 millions d'années passées, la majeure partie du Canada avait été couverte périodiquement de glace, durant ce qui est appelé l’Âge glaciaire. Il s'agissait d'une période de fluctuations climatiques extrêmes qui ont entraîné des avancées et des reculs cycliques de la glace ainsi que des variations considérables de l'épaisseur de la glace. Durant certaines périodes, des nappes glaciaires (inlandsis) de plusieurs kilomètres d'épaisseur couvraient des régions de la taille du Groenland, générant des glaciers qui s'étendaient comme des tentacules, moulant et changeant radicalement le paysage. L'idée que des glaciers et des inlandsis couvraient jadis d'immenses régions de l'Amérique du Nord était controversée jusqu'au milieu du 19e siècle.

Les travaux sur le terrain menés par des géologues pionniers de la Commission géologique du Canada, tels que William Logan, Joseph Tyrrell et George Dawson, ont fourni des preuves convaincantes de la présence de glace sur une grande partie du Canada. En fait, c'est Dawson qui a reconnu et nommé les inlandsis cordillérien et laurentidien – des termes encore utilisés aujourd'hui.

Il y a entre 20 000 et 18 000 années, l’inlandsis cordillérien couvrait la majeure partie du Canada à l'ouest des Prairies. Il a atteint une épaisseur d'environ deux kilomètres et il s'est brièvement fusionné avec l’inlandsis laurentidien, à l'est. Le recul des nappes glaciaires a été rapide, du point de vue géologique, ne prenant qu'environ 4 000 ans.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1890

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :