49. Yukon Gold Rush (1898)

Yukon Gold Rush 1
Yukon Gold Rush 2

Rich placers of gold (flakes of gold in river sediments) were first discovered in the Yukon in 1896. By 1898, when the Geological Survey of Canada’s third Director, George Dawson, sent Richard McConnell and Joseph Tyrrell to examine the gold deposits, 10,000 mining claims were already registered and the Gold Rush was in full swing.

McConnell and Tyrrell described the gold-producing area as covering about 1000 square miles, with placer gold in four of the main creeks – Eldorado, Bonanza, Hunker, and Dominion. Tyrrell collected the gold sample shown here from one of these creeks.

Dawson City, which was the hub of the Gold Rush, was established in 1896 where the Klondike River joins the Yukon River. The Dominion Lands surveyor William Ogilvie named the new settlement in honour of George Dawson. In 1887-1888, a decade before the Gold Rush, Dawson had led an expedition through the Yukon and northern British Columbia that combined geological investigations and topographical surveying, in an area not previously mapped. Ogilivie had been a member of the expedition, and the resulting maps were of great value to the prospectors of the Gold Rush who used them to blaze their trails.

Category: Exploration

Decade: 1890s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

49. Ruée vers l'or du Yukon (1898)

Ruée vers l'or du Yukon 1
Ruée vers l'or du Yukon 2

De riches placers d'or (flocons d'or se trouvant dans les sédiments de rivières) ont d'abord été découverts au Yukon en 1896. En 1898, lorsque George Dawson, troisième directeur de la Commission géologique du Canada, a envoyé Richard McConnell et Joseph Tyrrell examiner les dépôts d'or, 10 000 concessions minières étaient déjà enregistrées et la Ruée vers l'or battait son plein.

McConnell et Tyrrell ont indiqué que la région aurifère couvrait 1 000 milles carrés et que des placers d'or se trouvaient dans quatre des principaux ruisseaux – Eldorado, Bonanza, Hunker et Dominion. Tyrrell a recueilli l’échantillon d'or montré ici d’un de ces ruisseaux.

Dawson City, qui était le centre de la Ruée vers l'or, a été établie en 1896, là où la rivière Klondike se joint au fleuve Yukon. William Ogilvie, arpenteur des terres du Dominion, a nommé la nouvelle communauté en l'honneur de George Dawson. En 1887‑1888, une décennie avant la Ruée vers l'or, Dawson avait mené une expédition à travers le Yukon et le nord de la Colombie‑Britannique. Il avait combiné des études géologiques avec des levés topographiques dans une région non encore cartographiée. Ogilvie avait été membre de l'expédition, et les cartes résultantes ont été d'une grande valeur pour les prospecteurs de la Ruée vers l'or qui les utilisaient pour frayer leur chemin.

Categorie : Exploration

Décennie : Années 1890

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :