50. Gravity Measurement (1902)

Gravity Measurement

In 1902, in the basement of the old Supreme Court building in Ottawa, Otto Klotz, Assistant Director of the Dominion Observatory, made the first Canadian observation of gravity. He used a Mendenhall double pendulum apparatus recently acquired from Washington. This marked the start of over a century of gravity observations across Canada by the Dominion Observatory, which became the Earth Physics Branch in 1970 and merged with the Geological Survey of Canada in 1986.

The Dominion Observatory was principally involved in establishing the framework for accurate positioning across Canada. Klotz, however, recognized that spatial variations in gravity not only affected the accuracy of all levelling instruments, but also provided unique information about the density and gravitational attraction of the underlying geology. By 1915, there was a chain of 25 gravity observations stretching across Canada from New Brunswick to British Columbia.

Since 1902, hundreds of thousands of surface, marine, airborne, and satellite gravity measurements have been made, and they provide a detailed picture of Canada’s gravitational field. Applications of this information include defence, satellite navigation, geodesy, geological mapping, and exploration for oil, gas, and minerals.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1900s

Reference

Hodgson, J.H., 1989. The Heavens Above and the Earth Beneath, A History of the Dominion Observatories: part 1, to 1946; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1945, 193 p. doi:10.4095/130751

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

50. Mesure de la gravité (1902)

Mesure de la gravité

En 1902, au sous‑sol de l'ancien édifice de la Cour suprême, à Ottawa, Otto Klotz, directeur adjoint de l'Observatoire fédéral, a fait la première mesure de la gravité au Canada. Il a utilisé un appareil Mendenhall à pendule double, récemment acquis de Washington. Cela a marqué le début de plus d'un siècle de mesure de la gravité partout au Canada par l'Observatoire fédéral, qui est devenu la Direction de la physique du globe en 1970. Cette dernière a été fusionnée avec la Commission géologique du Canada en 1986.

L'Observatoire fédéral travaillait principalement à l'établissement d'un cadre pour un positionnement précis à l'échelle du Canada. Toutefois, Klotz a reconnu que les variations spatiales de la gravité affectaient non seulement l’exactitude de tous les instruments de nivellement, mais qu'elles fournissaient également des renseignements uniques sur la densité et l'attraction gravitationnelle de la géologie sous‑jacente. En 1915, il y avait une chaîne de 25 observatoires de la gravité s'étendant à travers le Canada, depuis le Nouveau‑Brunswick jusqu’à la Colombie‑Britannique.

Depuis 1902, des centaines de milliers de mesures gravimétriques de surface, marines, aéroportées et satellitaires ont été effectuées, et elles fournissent une image détaillée du champ gravitationnel du Canada. Cette information est utilisée, entre autre, par la défense, la navigation par satellite, la géodésie, la cartographie géologique et l'exploration pétrolière, gazière et minérale.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1900

Référence

Hodgson, J.H., 1989. The Heavens Above and the Earth Beneath, A History of the Dominion Observatories: part 1, to 1946; Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1945, 193 p. doi:10.4095/130751

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :