54. Gold-bearing Quartz (1909)

Gold-bearing Quartz

The thousands of specimens in the Geological Survey of Canada’s National Mineral Collection record the history of mining in Canada. For example, this gold-bearing quartz specimen from Timmins, Ontario, represents one of Canada’s most important mining developments.

Although gold production in Ontario first started in 1866 in the Madoc area, the most spectacular of the early Ontario discoveries was made in the fall of 1909 near Timmins on a property that became the Dome Mine. A sensational showing of native gold occurred in a dome-like outcrop of quartz that, in places, was over 30 metres wide. It generated the great Porcupine Gold Rush of 1909-1910, and the gold was mined from a large open pit known as the 'glory hole'.

Production began in 1910. Two years later, the Dome Mine was Ontario's leading gold producer and, for 1913, its yield almost equalled the entire gold production from all other Ontario mines combined. A number of other major gold mines developed in the area over the following years. Today, Timmins is an important mining centre that produces copper, zinc, silver, and nickel, as well as gold.

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1900s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

54. Quartz aurifère (1909)

Quartz aurifère

Les milliers d’échantillons de la Collection nationale de minéraux de la Commission géologique du Canada documentent l'histoire de l'exploration minière au Canada. Par exemple, cet échantillon de quartz aurifère provenant de Timmins, en Ontario, représente l'un des plus importants développements miniers du Canada.

Bien que la production d'or en Ontario ait commencé en 1866 dans la région de Madoc, la plus spectaculaire des premières découvertes en Ontario a été faite durant l'automne de 1909 près de Timmins, sur une propriété qui est devenue la mine Dome. Un indice spectaculaire d'or natif se trouvait sur un affleurement de quartz en forme de dôme qui avait, par endroits, plus de 30 mètres de largeur. Cet indice a donné lieu à la grande Ruée vers l'or de Porcupine de 1909‑1910, et l'or a été extrait d’une mine à ciel ouvert appelée le « glory hole » (trou de la gloire).

La production a commencé en 1910. Deux ans plus tard, la mine Dome était le plus important producteur d'or de l'Ontario et, en 1913, sa production égalait presque celles combinées de toutes les autres mines de l'Ontario. Plusieurs autres mines d'or importantes ont été exploitées dans la région au cours des années suivantes. Aujourd'hui, Timmins est un important centre minier qui produit du cuivre, du zinc, de l'argent, du nickel ainsi que de l'or.

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1900

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :