55. Victoria Memorial Museum Building (1911)

Victoria Memorial Museum Building

Starting shortly after the 1881 move to Ottawa, each subsequent director of the Geological Survey of Canada lobbied the government for a suitable building to house its extensive collection of natural history and human history artifacts. Finally, in 1901, Parliament approved funding, and planning began for the Survey’s new purpose-built home, the Victoria Memorial Museum Building.

David Ewart, who had designed the Dominion Observatory, was the architect. The construction was a massive endeavour that was complicated by the site being underlain by unstable clay. The building started shifting even before it was completed, and, in 1915, the tower over its entry had to be removed for safety reasons. The supreme irony was that no one had consulted Survey specialists about the geology under their new home.

By November 1910, the Survey’s museum collections were being transferred to the new building, and, in 1912, its exhibition halls started to open to the public. In 1916, when the Centre Block of Parliament was destroyed by fire, the museum became home to the Canadian House of Commons. In 1920, the Survey moved back in, and the building remained its headquarters until 1959.

Category: Buildings and Places

Decade: 1910s

Reference

Vodden, C. and Dyck, I., 2006. A World Inside: A 150-Year History of the Canadian Museum of Civilization; Canadian Museum of Civilization, Gatineau, 104 p.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

55. Édifice du musée commémoratif Victoria (1911)

Édifice du musée commémoratif Victoria

Peu après le déménagement à Ottawa en 1881, les directeurs subséquents de la Commission géologique du Canada ont tous exercé des pressions sur le gouvernement pour obtenir un édifice convenable pour abriter son importante collection d'artefacts d’histoire naturelle et d'histoire humaine. Le Parlement en a enfin approuvé, en 1901, le financement, et la planification a commencé pour la construction d’un nouvel édifice pour la Commission, à savoir l'Édifice du musée commémoratif Victoria.

David Ewart, qui avait conçu l'Observatoire fédéral, en a été l'architecte. La construction était une entreprise considérable qui a été compliquée par le fait que le site reposait sur de l'argile instable. L'immeuble a commencé à bouger avant même son achèvement et, en 1915, la tour surplombant son entrée a dû être enlevée pour des raisons de sécurité. L'ironie suprême était que personne n'avait consulté les spécialistes de la Commission au sujet de la géologie se trouvant sous leur nouvel immeuble.

En novembre 1910, les collections du musée de la Commission ont été transférées dans le nouvel immeuble et, en 1912, les salles d'exposition ont été ouvertes au public. En 1916, lorsque l'édifice du Centre du Parlement a été détruit par le feu, le musée a abrité la Chambre des communes du Canada. En 1920, la Commission y a ré-emménagé et l'immeuble est demeuré son siège social jusqu'en 1959.

Categorie : Immeubles et endroits

Décennie : Années 1910

Référence

Vodden, C. et Dyck, I., 2006. A World Inside: A 150-Year History of the Canadian Museum of Civilization; Canadian Museum of Civilization, Gatineau, 104 p.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :