56. Logan Boulder (1913)

Logan Boulder

The International Geological Congress is a major event for the geoscience community. The first Congress was held in Paris in 1878, and every three to five years after that. Canada was instrumental in its establishment, with two notable Canadian geologists on its 11-person founding committee: T. Sterry Hunt of the Geological Survey of Canada and William Dawson, McGill University.

The first Congress to be held in Canada took place in Toronto in 1913, with Survey Director Reginald Brock (1907-1914) as Secretary-Treasurer of the planning committee. A legacy of the Congress was a tribute to Sir William Logan in the form of a memorial boulder. The bronze plaque has his image and the words: “Sir William E. Logan, Kt., LLD, FRS, 1798-1875, The Father of Canadian Geology, Founder and First Director of the Geological Survey of Canada, 1842-1869.”

Prime Minister Robert Borden unveiled the memorial outside the Survey’s headquarters, the Victoria Memorial Museum Building, with more than 200 Congress delegates in attendance. An identical plaque was also installed at Percé in the Gaspé in honour of Logan’s fieldwork there. The Logan boulder now stands outside 601 Booth Street, the Survey’s current headquarters.

Category: Government

Decade: 1910s

References

Smith, C.H., 2000. Sir William Edmond Logan, Father of Canadian Geology: His Passion was Precision; Rock Stars, GSA Today; Geological Society of America, May 2000, p. 22–23. https://www.geosociety.org/gsatoday/archive/10/5/pdf/i1052-5173-10-5-22.pdf

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

56. Bloc commémoratif Logan (1913)

Bloc commémoratif Logan

Le Congrès géologique international est un événement important pour la communauté géoscientifique. Le premier Congrès a eu lieu à Paris en 1878 et s’est tenu par la suite tous les trois à cinq ans. Le Canada a joué un rôle déterminant dans sa création avec deux célèbres géologues canadiens qui faisaient partie des onze membres du comité fondateur, nommément T. Sterry Hunt, de la Commission géologique du Canada, et William Dawson, de l'Université McGill.

Le premier Congrès tenu au Canada a eu lieu à Toronto, en 1913, avec Reginald Brock, directeur de la Commission (1907‑1914) qui agissait à titre de secrétaire‑trésorier du comité de planification. Un des legs du Congrès a été un hommage à Sir William Logan, sous la forme d'un bloc commémoratif. La plaque de bronze portait son effigie et les mots [traduction] : « Sir William E. Logan, Kt., LLD, FRS, 1798‑1875, père de la géologie canadienne, fondateur et premier directeur de la Commission géologique du Canada, 1842‑1869 ».

Le premier ministre Robert Borden a dévoilé, devant plus de 200 délégués du Congrès, le bloc commémoratif placé à l'extérieur de l'Édifice du musée commémoratif Victoria, siège social de la Commission. Une plaque identique a également été installée à Percé, en Gaspésie, en l'honneur des travaux de terrain qu’y avait effectués Logan. Le bloc commémoratif Logan est maintenant situé à l'extérieur de l’actuel siège social de la Commission au 601 de la rue Booth, à Ottawa.

Categorie : Gouvernement

Décennie : Années 1910

Références

Smith, C.H., 2000. Sir William Edmond Logan, Father of Canadian Geology: His Passion was Precision; Rock Stars, GSA Today; Geological Society of America, May 2000, p. 22–23. https://www.geosociety.org/gsatoday/archive/10/5/pdf/i1052-5173-10-5-22.pdf

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :