60. The Survey's Bestseller (1930)

The Survey’s Bestseller

Of the thousands of publications issued by the Geological Survey of Canada over its long history, the most in demand has been Prospecting in Canada. First published in 1930 as part of the Economic Geology Series, its authorship was a group effort attributed to “Officers of the Geological Survey, Ottawa.” Several Survey geologists had contributed to six chapters on general geology, the geology of Canada and ore deposits, as well as prospecting techniques. It was everything a prospector needed as a guide. The volume ran to 288 pages, with 23 plates and 25 figures. The second edition, identical to the first, was published in 1935.

The third edition appeared in 1956 under the sole authorship of Survey geologist Arthur Lang. Completely rewritten, Prospecting in Canada had grown to 401 pages with 74 plates and 23 figures. Within ten years of publication, three reprints were required to satisfy demand.

In 1970, a fourth edition, also written by Lang, appeared in a hardcover, with 308 pages and including 87 plates and 40 figures. It was reprinted in 1972 and again in 1975, with a French translation released in 1976. As of 2016, a digital version is in preparation.

Category: Publications

Decade: 1930s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

60. Meilleur vendeur de la Commission (1930)

Meilleur vendeur de la Commission

Parmi les milliers de publications diffusées par la Commission géologique du Canada au cours de sa longue histoire, la plus demandée a été Prospecting in Canada (Prospecter au Canada). Publiée pour la première fois en 1930 dans le cadre de l'Economic Geology Series (série sur la géologie économique), c’était un effort de groupe attribué aux « administrateurs de la Commission géologique d'Ottawa ». Plusieurs géologues de la Commission avaient contribué aux six chapitres sur la géologie générale, sur la géologie du Canada et des gîtes minéraux ainsi que sur les techniques de prospection. La publication était le guide dont tout prospecteur avait besoin. Le volume comptait 288 pages, 23 planches et 25 figures. La seconde édition, identique à la première, a été publiée en 1935.

La troisième édition a paru en 1956 avec pour seul auteur Arthur Lang, géologue de la Commission. Complètement réécrite, la publication Prospecting in Canada a grossi pour compter 401 pages, 74 planches et 23 figures. Au cours des dix années qui ont suivi sa publication, trois réimpressions ont été nécessaires pour satisfaire à la demande.

En 1970, une quatrième édition, également rédigée par Lang, a été publiée sous forme d’un livre relié qui comptait 308 pages, 87 planches et 40 figures. Elle a été réimprimée en 1972 et encore une fois en 1975, avec une traduction française publiée en 1976. En 2016, une version numérique était en préparation.

Categorie : Publications

Décennie : Années 1930

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :