61. Canada's First Uranium Mine (1932)

Canada’s First Uranium Mine 1

During an expedition in 1900 along the east arm of Great Bear Lake, Northwest Territories, James McIntosh Bell and Charles Camsell, both of the Geological Survey of Canada, noted the presence of iron, copper, uranium, and cobalt in the vicinity of Echo Bay. Bell made these findings public in 1901 in the Survey’s annual report.

Thirty years later, prospector Gilbert LaBine used this information to discover the high-grade uranium and silver deposits at what would become the Eldorado Mine, Canada’s first uranium mine. The mine began production as a radium mine in 1932, extracting radium from the uranium ores. Radium was highly valued at the time, with an average price of (US)$60,000 per gram.

In 1942, the company secured a contract with the United States military to supply uranium for the Manhattan Project, which produced the first atomic bomb. The Canadian Government expropriated Eldorado Mine in 1944 and renamed it Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited. This crown corporation became heavily involved in creating uranium exploration and mining advancements, in addition to medical, military, and energy applications of radioactive materials.

Canada’s First Uranium Mine 2

Category: Exploration

Decade: 1930s

Reference

Bothwell, R., 1984. Eldorado, Canada’s National Uranium Company; University of Toronto Press, Toronto, 514 p. doi:10.3138/9781442674332

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

61. Première mine d'uranium du Canada (1932)

Première mine d'uranium du Canada 1

Au cours d'une expédition menée en 1900 le long du bras est du Grand lac de l'Ours, dans les Territoires du Nord‑Ouest, James McIntosh Bell et Charles Camsell, tous deux de la Commission géologique du Canada, ont constaté la présence de fer, de cuivre, d'uranium et de cobalt dans les environs d'Echo Bay. Bell a publié ces observations en 1901 dans le rapport annuel de la Commission.

Trente ans plus tard, le prospecteur Gilbert LaBine a utilisé cette information pour découvrir le gisement à forte teneur en uranium et en argent qui allait devenir la mine Eldorado, première mine d'uranium canadienne. La mine est entrée en production en tant que mine de radium en 1932, extrayant le radium des minerais d'uranium. Le radium avait une grande valeur à l'époque, son prix moyen étant de 60 000 $US par gramme.

En 1942, la compagnie a obtenu un contrat de l'armée américaine pour fournir de l'uranium au projet Manhattan, qui a produit la première bombe atomique. Le gouvernement canadien a exproprié la mine Eldorado en 1944 et l'a renommée Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited. Cette société d’État est devenue très impliquée dans les avancées en matière d'exploration et d'exploitation minière de l'uranium, en plus des applications médicales, militaires et énergétiques des matières radioactives.

Première mine d'uranium du Canada 2

Categorie : Exploration

Décennie : Années 1930

Référence

Bothwell, R., 1984. Eldorado, Canada’s National Uranium Company; University of Toronto Press, Toronto, 514 p. doi:10.3138/9781442674332

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :