63. Rock Cairns and Topographic Survey Markers (1930s)

Rock Cairns and Topographic Survey Markers

Modern geologists take for granted the availability of accurate base maps and topographic datasets upon which they can do geological mapping, but this was not the case in Canada in its early years. Indeed, in the 1840s, the Geological Survey of Canada’s founder William Logan was lamenting that he had to make topographic maps at the same time as his geological mapping. By the 1870s, government topographic surveyors had taken this task off the hands of the geologist, but they had a lot of catching up to do.

In remote parts of the country, such as the Yukon, it was commonplace as late as the 1930s for Survey geologists to complete their geological mapping surveys concurrently with the topographic surveyors. The Yukon field notes from this time of Survey geologist Hugh Bostock commonly contained topographic data and newly sketched contour lines.

Today, rock cairns dot the Yukon landscape as a lasting testament to the labours of the topographic surveyors and the geologists. These striking structures mark the topographic high points of western Yukon and were built by the surveyors.

Category: Fieldwork

Decade: 1930s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

63. Cairns de pierres et bornes topographiques (Années 1930)

Cairns de pierres et bornes topographiques

Les géologues modernes tiennent pour acquise la disponibilité de cartes de base et d'ensembles de données topographiques précises avec lesquelles ils peuvent réaliser leur cartographie géologique, mais ce n'était pas le cas au Canada à ses débuts. En fait, au cours des années 1840, le fondateur de la Commission géologique du Canada, William Logan, se plaignait du fait qu'il devait créer des cartes topographiques en même temps que ses cartes géologiques. Au cours des années 1870, les topographes du gouvernement avaient retiré cette tâche des mains du géologue, mais ils avaient beaucoup de rattrapage à faire.

Dans les régions éloignées du pays, comme le Yukon, il était courant, encore dans les années 1930, que les géologues de la Commission complètent leurs levés cartographiques en même temps que les topographes. Les notes de terrain du Yukon prises à cette époque par le géologue Hugh Bostock, de la Commission, contenaient souvent des données topographiques ainsi que des lignes de contours nouvellement dessinées.

Aujourd'hui, les cairns de pierres qui parsèment le paysage du Yukon sont le testament durable du travail des topographes et des géologues. Ces surprenantes structures marquent les points culminants de la topographie de l'ouest du Yukon et ont été construites par les arpenteurs.

Categorie : Travaux de terrain

Décennie : Années 1930

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :