65. 100th Anniversary Film (1942)

100th Anniversary Film 1
100th Anniversary Film 2

Celebrations of the Geological Survey of Canada’s 100th anniversary in 1942 were postponed because the Second World War was at its height. The National Film Board, however, appreciating that Canada was a critical source of raw materials for the Allied war effort, produced a 10-minute documentary recognizing the great value of the Survey’s contribution over its 100-year history.

The film starts with a re-enactment of geologists setting up camp and surveying a traverse. It even includes a short sequence of an actor playing William Logan using his actual wheel odometer from the Survey museum. The film’s primary message concerned the geological resources that could be found in Canada and the role of government geologists in helping the mining industry find them.

The economic value of the Survey’s work is underscored by the film pointing out that the production of mercury from a single mine in British Columbia could have financed the Survey for its entire 100 years. This was the Pinchi Lake deposit discovered by Survey geologist J.G. Gray in 1938. The film ends by describing geologists as “students of the barren slopes … unravelling the Face of Time.”

Category: Government

Decade: 1940s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

65. Film du 100e anniversaire (1942)

Film du 100e anniversaire 1
 Film du 100e anniversaire 2

Les célébrations du 100e anniversaire de la Commission géologique du Canada en 1942 ont été reportées car la Seconde Guerre mondiale était à son paroxysme. Toutefois, l'Office national du film, reconnaissant que le Canada était une source cruciale de matériaux bruts pour l'effort de guerre des Alliés, a produit un documentaire de dix minutes faisant état de la grande valeur de la contribution de la Commission au cours de ses 100 ans d’histoire.

Le film commence par une reconstitution montrant des géologues en train d'établir un camp et d’effectuer des levés sur une traverse. Il comprend même une courte séquence montrant un acteur jouant le rôle de William Logan en train d'utiliser son vrai odomètre à roue provenant du musée de la Commission. Le message principal du film concernait les ressources géologiques pouvant être trouvées au Canada et le rôle des géologues du gouvernement qui aident l'industrie minière à les trouver.

Le film souligne la valeur économique des travaux de la Commission en montrant que la production de mercure d'une seule mine de la Colombie‑Britannique aurait pu financer la Commission pour l’ensemble de ses 100 ans d’existence. Il s'agissait du gisement du lac Pinchi, découvert par le géologue J. G. Gray de la Commission en 1938. Le film se termine par une description de géologues comme “students of the barren slopes … unravelling the Face of Time.” [traduction] « des étudiants de pentes dénudées […] démêlant la face du temps ».

Categorie : Gouvernement

Décennie : Années 1940

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :