66. Ottawa Geology (1946)

Ottawa Geology

When Alice Wilson began her career with the Geological Survey of Canada in 1909, women could not take part in fieldwork in remote areas with their male colleagues. Instead, she was advised to focus on local fieldwork in the Ottawa Valley, which she did very successfully. Despite life-long struggles with ill health, Wilson mapped over 16,000 square kilometres on foot, by bicycle, and, eventually, by car. 

The Survey published the results of her fieldwork in 1946, and Geology of the St. Lawrence Lowland, Ontario and Quebec was the first major geological publication about the area. Indeed, we owe our understanding of the geology and resources of the area to Wilson. In addition to a comprehensive discussion of the area’s geology, she covered economic resources including building stone, sand, gravel, and drinking water.

Wilson was a person of many impressive firsts. She was the first woman geologist hired by the Geological Survey of Canada, the first Canadian woman to be admitted to the Geological Society of America, and the first female Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada – and these are but a few examples of the many areas where Wilson opened new doors for women scientists. 

Category: Fieldwork

Decade: 1940s

References

Wilson, A., 1946. Geology of the St. Lawrence Lowland, Ontario and Quebec; Geological Survey of Canada, Memoir 241, 66 p. + maps. doi:10.4095/101632

Alice Evelyn Wilson 1881-1964; Canadian Science and Engineering Hall of Fame, Canada Science and Technology Museum. http://cstmuseum.techno-science.ca/en/hall-of-fame/hall-of-fame-alice-evelyn-wilson.php

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

66. Géologie d'Ottawa (1946)

Géologie d'Ottawa

Lorsqu’Alice Wilson a commencé sa carrière à la Commission géologique du Canada en 1909, les femmes ne pouvaient participer, avec leurs collègues masculins, aux travaux de terrain en régions éloignées. On lui a plutôt conseillé de se concentrer sur des travaux de terrain locaux dans la vallée d'Ottawa, ce qu'elle a fait avec grand succès. En dépit de sa lutte permanente contre des problèmes de santé, Wilson a cartographié plus de 16 000 kilomètres carrés à pied, à bicyclette et, à la fin, en automobile.

La Commission a publié les résultats de ses travaux de terrain en 1946, et Geology of the St. Lawrence Lowland, Ontario and Quebec a été la première publication d’importance sur la géologie de la région. En effet, nous devons notre compréhension de la géologie et des ressources de la région à Wilson. Outre sa discussion approfondie de la géologie de la région, elle a traité des ressources économiques, dont les pierres de construction, le sable, le gravier et l'eau potable.

Wilson a été une pionnière à bien des égards. Elle a été la première femme géologue à avoir été recrutée par la Commission géologique du Canada, la première femme canadienne à être admise à la Geological Society of America et la première femme « fellow » de la Société royale du Canada – et ce ne sont là que quelques exemples des nombreux domaines que Wilson a ouverts aux femmes scientifiques.

Categorie : Travaux de terrain

Décennie : Années 1940

Références

Wilson, A., 1946. Geology of the St. Lawrence Lowland, Ontario and Quebec; Geological Survey of Canada, Memoir 241, 66 p. + maps. doi:10.4095/101632

Alice Evelyn Wilson 1881-1964; Panthéon canadien des sciences et du génie, Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada. http://cstmuseum.techno-science.ca/fr/pantheon/le-pantheon-alice-evelyn-wilson.php

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :