68. Three-Component Magnetometer (1946)

Three-Component Magnetometer

Until the mid-20th century, the magnetic compass was the primary tool for exploring, mapping, and surveying. However, establishing the direction and strength of Earth’s magnetic field at all points over a landmass as large as Canada is an enormous task. To resolve this, in 1946, development began in Canada of an airborne magnetometer that could measure three components of the magnetic field (horizontal direction, dip, and field strength). The project involved the Dominion Observatory, the Department of Defence, and the University of Toronto, with the first prototype system flown in 1950.

Between 1951 and 1955, Paul Serson and colleagues at the Dominion Observatory built the instrument shown. The first experimental high-level flights took place in 1953 using an RCAF Northstar. In 1955, it was used for a systematic survey of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Alberta. Using civilian aircraft, six additional high-level surveys were flown between 1957 and 1968, completing coverage of Canada.

This resulting information provided the first Canadian Geomagnetic Reference Field, which continues to be used to provide the compass directions included on all topographic maps. Changes through time are captured through ground measurements at a network of observatories and, in recent years, through international satellite observations.

Category: Equipment and Instrumentation

Decade: 1940s

References:

http://www.geomag.nrcan.gc.ca/lab/vm/airborne-p1-en.php

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

68. Magnétomètre à trois composantes (1946)

 Magnétomètre à trois composantes

Jusqu'au milieu du 20e siècle, la boussole magnétique était le principal outil pour explorer, cartographier et arpenter. Toutefois, déterminer la direction et la force du champ magnétique de la Terre en tous points sur une masse terrestre aussi vaste que le Canada est une tâche énorme. Pour y faire face, en 1946, on a commencé à développer au Canada un magnétomètre aéroporté pouvant mesurer trois composantes du champ magnétique (la direction horizontale, l`inclinaison et l’intensité de champ). Le projet a été réalisé de concert par l'Observatoire fédéral, le ministère de la Défense et l'Université de Toronto, et le premier prototype a pris son envol en 1950.

Entre 1951 et 1955, Paul Serson et ses collègues de l'Observatoire fédéral ont construit l'instrument illustré. Les premiers vols expérimentaux à haute altitude ont eu lieu en 1953, à bord d'un avion Northstar de l'Aviation royale canadienne. En 1955, l’instrument a été utilisé en vue d’un levé systématique du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan et de l'Alberta. Six levés additionnels à haute altitude ont été effectués à bord d'aéronefs civils entre 1957 et 1968, complétant la couverture du Canada.

L'information résultante a fourni le premier Champ de référence géomagnétique du Canada, qui continue d'être utilisé pour fournir les directions du compas magnétique indiquées sur toutes les cartes topographiques. Les changements survenus au fil du temps sont saisis au moyen de mesures au sol grâce à un réseau d'observatoires et, ces dernières années, au moyen d'observations par satellite international.

Categorie : Équipement et appareils

Décennie : Années 1940

Références

http ://www.geomag.nrcan.gc.ca/lab/vm/airborne-p1-fr.php

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :