69. Omars (1940s)

Omars

In 1873 in northern Ontario, Geological Survey of Canada geologist Robert Bell discovered distinctive grey rocks with rounded and elongated weathering pits. He interpreted them to have been glacially transported from the northeast. Rocks transported by glaciers away from their region of origin are called erratics. Bell’s erratics were later tracked to the Omarolluk Formation on the Belcher Islands in eastern Hudson Bay, and were named omars after their source location.

In the 1940s, Survey geologist Victor Prest recognized that the unique place of origin of omars made them an important marker for reconstructing past glacier movements. Since then, omars have been identified in the Prairies, western Quebec, Ontario, and in several northern U.S. states. They are a testimony to at least two phases of glaciation and glacial transport over thousands of kilometres by the Laurentide Ice Sheet, which had covered all of eastern and northern Canada during the last glaciation about 21,000 years ago.

This omar specimen was found in southern Saskatchewan by Survey geologist Stephen Wolfe and represents 1800 kilometers of glacial transport. It was identified and autographed by Prest.

Category: Rocks, Fossils, Minerals and Meteorites

Decade: 1940s

Reference

Prest, V.K., Donaldson, J.A., and Mooers, H.D., 2000. The omar story: the role of omars in assessing glacial history of west-central North America; Géographie physique et Quaternaire, v. 54, p. 257–270. doi:10.7202/005654ar

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

69. Omars (Années 1940)

Omars

En 1873, dans le nord de l'Ontario, le géologue Robert Bell de la Commission géologique du Canada a découvert des roches grises particulières affichant des alvéoles arrondies et allongées. Il les a interprétées comme ayant été transportées du nord‑est par les glaces. Les roches transportées par les glaciers loin de leur région d'origine sont appelées des blocs erratiques. Plus tard, les blocs erratiques de Bell ont été rattachés à la formation d'Omarolluk des îles Belcher de l'est de la baie d'Hudson et ont été appelées des omars d'après l'emplacement de leur source.

Au cours des années 1940, Victor Prest, géologue de la Commission, a reconnu que le lieu d'origine particulier des omars en faisait un important marqueur pour la reconstitution des mouvements passés. Depuis, des omars ont été trouvés dans les Prairies, l'ouest du Québec, l'Ontario et plusieurs États du nord des États‑Unis. Ils témoignent d'au moins deux périodes de glaciation et de transport glaciaire sur des milliers de kilomètres par l'inlandsis laurentidien, qui a couvert tout l'est et le nord du Canada au cours de la dernière glaciation, il y a environ 21 000 ans.

Ce spécimen d'omar a été trouvé dans le sud de la Saskatchewan par Stephen Wolfe, géologue de la Commission, et représente 1 800 kilomètres de transport glaciaire. Il a été identifié et autographié par Prest.

Categorie : Roches, fossiles, minéraux et météorites

Décennie : Années 1940

Référence

Prest, V.K., Donaldson, J.A., et Mooers, H.D., 2000. The omar story: the role of omars in assessing glacial history of west-central North America; Géographie physique et Quaternaire, v. 54, p. 257–270. doi:10.7202/005654ar

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :