71. The DHC-2 Beaver (1947)

The DHC-2 Beaver

Canada’s remote areas were dramatically opened to geological fieldwork with the development of bush planes that were capable of short take-off and landing. The most famous was the de Havilland Canada DHC-2 Beaver, which first flew August 16, 1947, and has since become a symbol of Canada’s North.

Development of internal combustion engines during the First World War and the availability of trained pilots after the war fuelled the use of bush planes. Between 1947 and 1967, 1, 657 Beaver aircraft were produced and used around the world, with many still in service. Capable of carrying about 1,000 kilograms, the Beaver became the new workhorse for transporting and supplying geological fieldwork on a larger scale and further north than previously possible.

Subsequent de Havilland models, with larger capacities, eventually supplanted the venerable Beaver. These included the DHC-2T Turbo Beaver, the DHC-3 Otter (single Otter, and the turbocharged version, DHC-3T), and DHC-6 Twin Otter.

The Royal Canadian Mint issued a special gold coin in 2008 in honour of the Beaver, calling it “the airplane that opened the North.” A quarter with an image of the Beaver had been issued in 1999.

Category: Fieldwork

Decade: 1940s

References:

CDN Icons: The Bush Plane. http://www.canadianicons.ca/bush-plane.php

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

71. Le Beaver DHC-2 (1947)

Le Beaver DHC-2

Les régions éloignées du Canada ont été ouvertes de façon spectaculaire aux travaux géologiques de terrain grâce au développement d'avions de brousse à décollage et atterrissage courts. Le plus célèbre était le Beaver DHC‑2, construit par de Havilland Canada. Il a volé pour la première fois le 16 août 1947 et est devenu depuis un symbole du Nord canadien.

La mise au point, au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, de moteurs à combustion interne et la disponibilité, après la guerre, de pilotes bien formés ont encouragé l'utilisation d'avions de brousse. Entre 1947 et 1967, 1 657 avions Beaver ont été produits et utilisés partout dans le monde, et bon nombre d'entre eux sont toujours en service. Capable de transporter environ 1 000 kilogrammes, le Beaver est devenu la nouvelle bête de somme pour transporter et approvisionner les travaux géologiques de terrain à plus grande échelle et plus au nord que cela était possible auparavant.

Subséquemment, des modèles de Havilland ayant de plus grandes capacités ont remplacé le vénérable Beaver. Ces modèles comprenaient le DHC‑2T Turbo Beaver, le DHC‑3 Otter (l’Otter monomoteur et la version à turbocompresseur, le DHC‑3T) et le DHC‑6 Twin Otter.

La Monnaie royale canadienne a émis, en 2008, une pièce spéciale en or en l'honneur du Beaver, l'appelant « l'avion qui a ouvert le Nord ». Une pièce de monnaie de vingt‑cinq cents portant une image du Beaver a été émise en 1999.

Categorie : Travaux de terrain

Décennie : Années 1940

Référence

CDN Icons: The Bush Plane. http://www.canadianicons.ca/bush-plane.php

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :