72. North Magnetic Pole (1948)

North Magnetic Pole

The search for the North Magnetic Pole began in 1818 with the British Navy’s campaign to discover the Northwest Passage. Defined as the point at which the compass needle dips at 90ᵒ, we now understand that the pole moves every day along a 120 kilometre elliptical path in response to changes in the Earth’s external magnetic field, and that it is drifting in a north to north-westerly direction.

Dominion Observatory scientists located the Pole in 1948 on Prince of Wales Island using a special electronic instrument developed by Paul Serson that accurately measured and recorded the direction and dip of the magnetic field. Starting in 1953, the same instrument was subsequently adapted for airborne surveys. Further tracking of the pole’s position by the Earth Physics Branch and then the Geological Survey, of Canada used observations from ground surveys and a permanent magnetic observatory established at Resolute Bay.

Continuing its northward movement, by the year 2000 the North Magnetic Pole had moved offshore. It is currently estimated to be near 86.4ᵒ N, 166.3ᵒ W placing it many hundreds of kilometres into the Arctic Ocean and well outside Canadian offshore jurisdiction.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1940s

Reference

Serson, P.H., 1982. The Search for the North Magnetic Pole; Transactions of the Royal Society of Canada, Series IV, v. XX.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

72. Pôle Nord magnétique (1948)

 Pôle Nord magnétique

La recherche du pôle Nord magnétique a commencé en 1818 avec la campagne

de la marine britannique pour découvrir le passage du Nord‑Ouest. Le pôle est défini comme le point où l'aiguille de la boussole s’incline à 90°. Nous comprenons aujourd'hui qu’il se déplace chaque jour le long d'une trajectoire elliptique de 120 kilomètres en réaction aux changements du champ magnétique extérieur de la Terre, et qu'il dérive dans une direction nord à nord‑ouest.

Les scientifiques de l'Observatoire fédéral ont localisé le pôle en 1948 sur l’île Prince of Wales au moyen d'un instrument électronique spécial, mis au point par Paul Serson, qui mesurait et enregistrait avec précision la direction et l'inclinaison du champ magnétique. À compter de 1953, le même instrument a été adapté pour les levés aéroportés. D'autres suivis de la position du pôle par la Direction de la physique du globe, puis par la Commission géologique du Canada, ont utilisé des observations provenant de levés au sol ainsi que celles d’un observatoire magnétique permanent établi à Resolute Bay.

Poursuivant son mouvement vers le nord, en 2000 le pôle Nord magnétique s'était éloigné des côtes canadiennes. On estime que ses coordonnées actuelles sont d’environ 86,4° N, 166,3° O, ce qui le place à plusieurs centaines de kilomètres dans l'océan Arctique, loin de la zone de compétence extracôtière canadienne.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1940

Référence

Serson, P.H., 1982. The Search for the North Magnetic Pole; Transactions of the Royal Society of Canada, Series IV, v. XX.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :