73. Brent Crater (1951)

Brent Crater

The Brent meteorite impact crater, which is 3.8 kilometers in diameter and located in Ontario’s Algonquin Park, was first identified in 1951 from aerial photographs taken by Spartan Air Services during survey work for the Canadian Government. John Roberts, the company president, noted its similarity to the New Quebec Crater, which had been recognized as an impact crater the previous year.

Consultations with the Geological Survey of Canada and the Dominion Observatory led to the first field investigations of the Brent Crater, July 4-9, 1951. More extensive geological and geophysical surveys followed in 1953, as well as a coring program that ran from 1955 to 1967. Over 5 kilometres of core were recovered from 12 drill holes making it one of the most comprehensively studied impact craters on Earth.

The Brent Crater became the model for smaller craters formed in crystalline rocks and the keystone for the systematic search for craters in Canada. It is estimated that the meteorite impact occurred about 450 million years ago. Visitors to Algonquin Park can view the crater from an observation tower and hike a 2-kilometre trail that highlights the fracturing in the surrounding rocks caused by the meteorite’s explosive energy.

Category: Buildings and Places

Decade: 1950s

References

http://craterexplorer.ca/brent-impact-crater/

http://www.ontariotrails.on.ca/trails/view/brent-crater-trail

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

73. Cratère de Brent (1951)

Cratère Brent

Le cratère d’impact météoritique de Brent, situé dans le parc Algonquin de l’Ontario, mesure 3,8 kilomètres de diamètre. Il a été identifié pour la première fois en 1951 à partir de photographies aériennes prises par Spartan Air Services au cours des levés effectués pour le gouvernement canadien. John Roberts, président de la compagnie, avait constaté sa similarité avec le cratère du Nouveau-Québec, qui avait été reconnu en tant que cratère d'impact l'année précédente.

Les consultations tenues avec la Commission géologique du Canada et l'Observatoire fédéral ont mené, du 4 au 9 juillet 1951, aux premières études sur le terrain du cratère de Brent. Des levés géologiques et géophysiques plus poussés ont suivi en 1953, ainsi qu'un programme de carottage qui a duré de 1955 à 1967. Plus de cinq kilomètres de carottes ont été récupérées à partir de douze trous de forage, ce qui a fait du cratère de Brent l'un des cratères d'impact le plus largement étudié sur Terre.

Le cratère de Brent est devenu le modèle pour les plus petits cratères formés dans des roches cristallines et la clé de voûte de la recherche systématique de cratères au Canada. Il est estimé que l'impact de la météorite est survenu il y a environ 450 millions d'années. Les visiteurs du parc Algonquin peuvent voir le cratère du haut d'une tour d'observation et faire une randonnée sur un sentier de deux kilomètres. Ce sentier met en évidence la fracturation des roches environnantes causée par l'énergie explosive de la météorite.

Categorie : Immeubles et endroits

Décennie : Années 1950

Références

http://craterexplorer.ca/brent-impact-crater/

http://www.ontariotrails.on.ca/trails/view/brent-crater-trail

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :