75. Geochronology Laboratory (1953)

Geochronology Laboratory

The potential to determine the age of rocks using natural radioactive decay was realized soon after the discovery of radioactivity, with the first geological age determination made in 1906 by Ernest Rutherford. In the 1950s, rapid improvements in analytical techniques resulted in more accurate and precise ages. This allowed geologists to begin to quantify Earth’s geological timescale and better understand its evolution.

A laboratory dedicated to age determinations and isotopic studies was established at the Geological Survey of Canada in 1953. Its goal was to further develop the new technologies and apply them to geological mapping of the Canadian landmass and its resources. Initial work focused on the potassium-argon method, with the influential uranium-lead zircon method, among others, developed subsequently.

The laboratory participated in dating the moon rocks from the 1969 Apollo 11 mission, as well as the oldest rocks on Earth, the Acasta Gneiss discovered in the Northwest Territories in the 1980s. It has also played a major role in unravelling the four billion years of geological history that shaped the country, and in defining Canada’s mineral and energy resource potential. It continues to evolve with new micro-beam technologies and sharpen its contribution to the research program.

Category: Equipment and Instrumentation

Decade: 1950s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

75. Laboratoire de géochronologie (1953)

Laboratorie de géochronologie

La possibilité de dater des roches à partir de la désintégration radioactive naturelle a été réalisée peu après la découverte de la radioactivité, la première datation géologique ayant été accomplie en 1906 par Ernest Rutherford. Dans les années 1950, les progrès rapides en techniques d’analyse ont permis des datations plus exactes et plus précises. Les géologues ont ainsi pu commencer à quantifier l’échelle de temps géologique de la Terre et à mieux comprendre son évolution.

Un laboratoire consacré à la datation et aux études isotopiques a été établi à la Commission géologique du Canada en 1953. Son objectif était d’élaborer de nouvelles méthodologies et de les appliquer à la cartographie géologique de la masse continentale canadienne et de ses ressources. Les premiers travaux ont été axés sur la méthode potassium-argon, la puissante méthode uranium-plomb sur zircon ayant été, parmi d’autres, développée par la suite.

Le laboratoire a participé à la datation de roches lunaires recueillies durant la mission Apollo 11 de 1969 ainsi qu’à la datation de la roche la plus ancienne de la Terre, le Gneiss d’Acasta, découvert dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest dans les années 1980. Il a aussi joué un rôle majeur pour faire la lumière sur les quatre milliards d’années d’histoire géologique qui ont façonné le pays et pour définir le potentiel en ressources minérales et énergétiques du Canada. Le laboratoire continue d’évoluer grâce aux nouvelles technologies des micro-faisceaux et d’affiner sa contribution au programme de recherche.

Categorie : Équipement et appareils

Décennie : Années 1950

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :