76. Extraterrestrial Impact Structures in Canada (1950s)

Extraterrestrial Impact Structures in Canada

The study of Canadian extraterrestrial impact structures began in the 1950s under the leadership of C.S. Beals at the Dominion Observatory, and some 31 Canadian impact structures are now documented. The oldest and largest is Sudbury, Ontario, at 200-250 kilometres in diameter and 1.85 billion years old. The youngest and smallest is Whitecourt, Alberta, at less than 40 metres and 1100 years old. Following the merger with the Earth Physics Branch in 1986, the Geological Survey of Canada became responsible for these studies.

From the outset, studies of Canadian impact structures were multidisciplinary, often involving collaboration with other scientific institutions. They have produced a number of firsts, including the dating of terrestrial impact events by isotopic analyses and the documentation of the rate at which the shock wave generated on impact attenuates in the target rocks.

The study of Canadian impact structures has made significant contributions to understanding the processes involved in their formation. Today, the research is carried out by Canadian universities, and much of the focus is on understanding the evolution of the Sudbury impact structure and its world-class copper-nickel-platinum group element ores, which, so far, have produced a cumulative total of over $ 300 billion worth of metals.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1950s

Reference

Grieve, R.A.F., 2006. Impact Structures in Canada; Geological Association of Canada, GEO text 5, St.John’s.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

76. Structures d’impact d’origine extraterrestre au Canada (Années 1950)

 Structures d’impact d’origine extraterrestre au Canada

L’étude des structures d’impact canadiennes d’origine extraterrestre s’est amorcée dans les années 1950 sous la direction de C.S. Beals à l’Observatoire fédéral; environ 31 structures d’impact canadiennes sont maintenant consignées. La plus vieille et la plus vaste est celle de Sudbury, en Ontario; elle mesure 200 à 250 kilomètres de diamètre et a été créée il y a 1,85 milliard d’années. La plus récente et la plus petite se trouve à Whitecourt, en Alberta; elle a un diamètre de moins de 40 mètres et a 1 100 ans. À la suite de la fusion avec la Direction de la physique du globe en 1986, la Commission géologique du Canada est devenue responsable de ces études.

Dès le début, les études des structures d’impact canadiennes étaient multidisciplinaires et impliquaient souvent une collaboration avec d’autres institutions scientifiques. Ces études ont produit un certain nombre de premières, notamment la datation des impacts terrestres par le biais d’analyses isotopiques et la documentation du taux d’affaiblissement de l’onde de choc générée à l’impact dans les roches touchées.

L’étude des structures d’impact canadiennes a grandement contribué à la compréhension des processus liés à leur formation. Aujourd’hui, les recherches sont menées par des universités canadiennes et portent surtout sur la compréhension de l’évolution de la structure d’impact de Sudbury et de ses minerais de cuivre-nickel-éléments du groupe du platine de calibre mondial qui, jusqu’à présent, ont produit pour plus de 300 milliards de dollars de métaux.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1950

Référence

Grieve, R.A.F., 2006. Impact Structures in Canada; Geological Association of Canada, GEO text 5, St.John’s.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :