78. The Logo (1956)

The Logo

The Geological Survey of Canada is Canada’s oldest government scientific organization and it has a long tradition of excellence. Its logo is the official seal of quality that identifies its research products. It has evolved over time, but the existing logo was registered under Crown Copyright in 1956, with a bilingual version dating from the 1970s. A modified version was developed to mark the Survey’s 150th anniversary and was used throughout 1992. In 1999, the logo underwent a redesign to better define the Arctic islands and the Great Lakes, and to add four of Canada’s major lakes (Winnipeg, Athabasca, Great Slave, and Great Bear).

The Survey’s logo is widely recognized by clients and stakeholders, both nationally and internationally. It is also a source of pride among employees. The crossed geological hammers on the map of Canada underscore the important role of geologists in not only making scientific studies of the geological structure and mineral deposits of Canada, but also in being some of the earliest explorers and mappers of our country.

The Survey’s work, since its founding in 1842, has provided Canadians with a comprehensive geoscience knowledge base and contributed to economic development, public safety, environmental protection, and national sovereignty.

Category: Government

Decade: 1950s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

78. Le logo (1956)

Le Logo

La Commission géologique du Canada est le plus vieil organisme scientifique du gouvernement et a une longue tradition d'excellence. Son logo est le sceau de qualité officiel qui identifie les produits de ses recherches. Il a évolué avec le temps, mais le logo actuel a fait l’objet du droit d'auteur de la Couronne en 1956, avec une version bilingue datant des années 1970. Une version modifiée a été créée pour marquer le 150e anniversaire de la Commission et a été utilisée tout au long de l'année 1992. En 1999, le logo a été remanié pour mieux définir l'archipel Arctique et les Grands Lacs, et pour ajouter quatre des principaux lacs du Canada (Winnipeg, Athabasca, Grand lac des Esclaves et Grand lac de l'Ours).

Le logo de la Commission est largement reconnu par les clients et les intervenants du milieu, tant à l'échelle nationale qu'internationale. Il est également une source de fierté parmi les employés. Les marteaux géologiques croisés sur la carte du Canada soulignent le rôle important des géologues, non seulement en matière d'études scientifiques sur la structure géologique et des gîtes minéraux du Canada, mais également pour avoir été parmi les premiers explorateurs et cartographes de notre pays.

Les travaux de la Commission, depuis sa fondation en 1842, ont fourni aux Canadiens une base de connaissances géoscientifiques exhaustives et ont contribué au développement économique, à la sécurité publique, à la protection de l'environnement et à la souveraineté nationale.

Categorie : Gouvernement

Décennie : Années 1950

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :