79. Polar Continental Shelf Project (1958)

Polar Continental Shelf Project

Polar Continental Shelf Project (PCSP) was created in 1958 in response to growing interest in Canada’s Arctic offshore areas – activities in the Canadian Arctic developed at a rapid pace after the Second World War. Notably, five Canada/U.S. weather stations were constructed in the Arctic Islands in the late 1940s, followed by the Distant Early Warning Line of radar stations in the 1950s to support Cold War defence programs.

There were also sovereignty considerations driving the need for an organization like PCSP. Canada’s natural resource and exploration rights had been extended to its continental shelf area in the late 1950s. The PCSP’s dual mandate was to survey Canada’s Arctic continental shelf and to ensure proper jurisdiction over its natural resources.

With Fred Roots as its first coordinator, PCSP provided researchers with efficient and safe logistics, and strengthened Canadian sovereignty in the Arctic. It brought together scientists from diverse organizations, including many Geological Survey of Canada researchers, for interdisciplinary studies of the Canadian Arctic.

Today, PCSP continues to provide logistics and a communications network to government and non-government scientists for their research in the Arctic, and it supports a range of government operations.

Category: Government

Decade: 1950s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

79. Étude du plateau continental polaire (1958)

 Étude du plateau continental polaire

L’Étude du plateau continental polaire (EPCP) a été créée en 1958, en réponse à l'intérêt croissant pour les régions extracôtières de l'Arctique canadien – les activités dans l'Arctique canadien ont pris un rythme rapide après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Notamment, cinq stations météorologiques canado‑américaines ont été construites dans l'archipel Arctique à la fin des années 1940, suivies des stations radar du Réseau d’alerte avancée, au cours des années 1950, pour appuyer les programmes de défense de la guerre froide.

Il y avait également des considérations de souveraineté, qui renforçaient la nécessité d'un organisme comme l’EPCP. Les droits du Canada sur les ressources naturelles et l'exploration s'étaient étendus à son plateau continental à la fin des années 1950. Le mandat double de l’EPCP était d'étudier le plateau continental arctique du Canada et d'assurer une juridiction appropriée sur ses ressources naturelles.

Avec Fred Roots qui en a été le premier coordonnateur, l’EPCP a fourni aux chercheurs une logistique efficace et sécuritaire, et a renforcé la souveraineté canadienne dans l'Arctique. Le programme a regroupé des scientifiques de divers organismes, dont bon nombre de chercheurs de la Commission géologique du Canada, dans le cadre d'études interdisciplinaires de l'Arctique canadien.

Aujourd'hui, l’EPCP continue de fournir la logistique et un réseau de communications aux scientifiques gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux pour leurs recherches dans l'Arctique, et elle appuie diverses activités du gouvernement.

Categorie : Gouvernement

Décennie : Années 1950

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :