81. Tundra Tires (1958)

Tundra Tires

As late as the mid-1950s, fieldwork in the Arctic Islands relied on dog-sledging in the spring, and boats and backpacking in the summer. In 1956, Weldy Phipps, a skilled aviator and brilliant engineer, demonstrated a Piper PA18A Super Cub aircraft he had modified to Geological Survey of Canada geologist Raymond Thorsteinsson, who was conducting stratigraphic studies in the Arctic.

Phipps’s modification consisted of oversize, low-pressure “tundra tires,” which enabled the aircraft to operate without a prepared landing strip. This was a game-changer – here was an airplane that could land on unprepared ground such as a gravel bar or a raised beach.

Thorsteinsson was impressed: “The distance we covered in an hour’s flight would have taken several days of surface travel.” In the summer of 1958, Thorsteinsson and Survey colleague Tim Tozer used a single Super Cub piloted by Phipps to map the western Queen Elizabeth Islands, covering an area of 42,700 square kilometres. They made 400 off-strip landings in 246 different places.

Several Survey projects in the Arctic used the modified Super Cub, and tundra tires were eventually fitted on larger aircraft such as the Beaver, Otter, and Twin Otter. Off-strip flying is now standard operating procedure in support of fieldwork in the Arctic Islands.

Category: Fieldwork

Decade: 1950s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

81. Pneus de toundra (1958)

Pneus de toundra

Jusqu'au milieu des années 1950, les travaux de terrain effectués dans l'archipel Arctique se faisaient en traîneaux à chiens au printemps et en bateaux et randonnées pédestres avec sacs au dos en été. En 1956, Weldy Phipps, un aviateur habile et brillant ingénieur, a fait la démonstration d’un avion Piper PA18A Super Cub qu'il avait modifié à Raymond Thorsteinsson, de la Commission géologique du Canada, qui effectuait des études stratigraphiques dans l'Arctique.

La modification de Phipps consistait en « pneus de toundra » surdimensionnés, à basse pression, qui permettaient à l'avion de fonctionner sans piste d'atterrissage préparée. Cela a changé les règles du jeu – on avait là un avion qui pouvait atterrir sur un sol non préparé, comme un banc de gravier ou une plage surélevée.

Thorsteinsson a été impressionné : [traduction] « La distance que nous avons parcourue au cours d'un vol d'une heure aurait nécessité plusieurs jours de voyage en surface. » À l'été de 1958, Thorsteinsson et Tim Tozer, son collègue à la Commission, ont utilisé un seul Super Cub piloté par Phipps pour cartographier la partie ouest des îles de la Reine-Élizabeth, couvrant une superficie de 42 700 kilomètres carrés. Ils ont fait 400 atterrissages hors piste à 246 endroits différents.

Plusieurs projets de la Commission menés dans l'Arctique ont utilisé le Super Cub modifié et, finalement, des pneus de toundra ont été installés sur de plus gros avions, comme le Beaver, l'Otter et le Twin Otter. Le vol hors piste est maintenant une façon de faire normalisée à l'appui des travaux de terrain dans l'archipel Arctique.

Categorie : Travaux de terrain

Décennie : Années 1950

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :