84. Radiocarbon Laboratory (1961)

Radiocarbon Laboratory

The Geological Survey of Canada’s Radiocarbon Dating Laboratory opened in 1961 and continued until 2005. It was one of the many new laboratories set up following the move to the spacious, new Survey headquarters at 601 Booth Street in 1959.

The laboratory determined ages of organic materials by measuring the ratio of radioactive (14C) to stable (12C) carbon isotopes. Radioactive carbon decays over time (with a half-life of 5730 years) into nitrogen. Living plants and animals acquire both forms of carbon, but the radioactive carbon continues to decay when the organism dies. The age of the dead material was determined by measuring the amount of 14C remaining compared to 12C.

In preparation for age-determinations, organic samples were burned in a stream of oxygen and the carbon dioxide (CO2) gas released was purified and stored in compressed-gas cylinders. In its 44 years of operation, the laboratory dated nearly 7000 samples of wood, peat, marine shells, and other materials, dating many events within the last 50 000 years.

The laboratory also determined the effect of nuclear weapons testing on atmospheric 14C concentration by measuring maple leaves from Gatineau Park. The Maple Leaf Project continues today at the University of Ottawa.

Category: Equipment and Instrumentation

Decade: 1960s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

84. Laboratoire de datation au radiocarbone (1961)

Laboratoire de datation au radiocarbone

Le Laboratoire de datation au radiocarbone de la Commission géologique du Canada a ouvert ses portes en 1961 et a poursuivi ses activités jusqu'en 2005. C'était l'un des nombreux nouveaux laboratoires établis suite au déménagement de la Commission dans son nouveau et spacieux siège social au 601, rue Booth, en 1959.

Le laboratoire a daté des matières organiques en mesurant le rapport entre les isotopes radioactif (14C) et stable (12C) du carbone. Avec le temps, le carbone radioactif se désintègre en azote (avec une demi‑vie de 5 730 années). Les plantes et les animaux vivants acquièrent les deux formes de carbone; cependant, à la mort de l’organisme, le carbone radioactif continue de se désintégrer. L’âge du matériel mort est établi en mesurant la quantité de 14C restante comparativement au 12C.

En préparation des datations, des échantillons organiques étaient brûlés dans un courant d'oxygène et le dioxyde de carbone (CO2), le gaz libéré, était purifié et stocké dans des cylindres de gaz comprimé. Au cours de ses 44 années d'activité, le laboratoire a daté près de 7 000 échantillons de bois, de tourbe, de coquillages marins et autres matériaux, ce qui a permis de dater de nombreux événements survenus au cours des 50 000 dernières années.

En analysant des feuilles d'érable du parc de la Gatineau, le laboratoire a également déterminé l'effet des essais d'armes nucléaires sur la concentration atmosphérique de 14C. Le projet Feuille d’érable se poursuit aujourd'hui à l'Université d'Ottawa.

Categorie : Équipement et appareils

Décennie : Années 1960

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :