85. First Electron Probe Microanalyzer (1962)

First Electron Probe Microanalyzer

An electron probe microanalyzer (EPMA) is an analytical instrument used to determine the chemical composition of small volumes of solid materials rapidly, non-destructively, and in situ. It works by focusing a beam of electrons with a diameter of less than five microns on a sample, which then emits X-rays characteristic of the chemical composition of the sample. Depending on analytical conditions and other factors, concentrations of elements from fluorine to uranium can be measured accurately at levels as low as 100 parts per million. New instrumentation is extending analytical capability to lighter elements such as beryllium, and to lower detection levels.

The Geological Survey of Canada acquired Canada’s first EPMA in 1962 as part of the expansion of its Ottawa-based laboratory capabilities to support fieldwork operations. Electron probe microanalysis has developed into the method of choice for quantitative mineral analysis, including the chemical variation in rock-forming minerals, and it is essential for the characterization of new minerals.

Electron probe microanalysis has supported Survey research into the search for diamonds and base metals, chemical age determinations, pressure-temperature-time evolution of rocks and minerals, and fluid–rock interaction. It is also used as a preparatory tool prior to other analytical methods including mass spectrometry and ion probe analysis (SHRIMP).

Category: Equipment and Instrumentation

Decade: 1960s

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

85. Premier microanalyseur à sonde électronique (1962)

Premier microanalyseur à sonde électronique

Un microanalyseur à sonde électronique (« electron probe microanalyser, EPMA ») est un instrument d’analyse utilisé pour déterminer rapidement, de façon non destructive et in situ, la composition chimique de petits volumes de substances solides. L’instrument fonctionne en focalisant un faisceau d’électrons de moins de cinq microns de diamètre sur un échantillon, qui émet ensuite des rayons X caractéristiques de la composition chimique de l’échantillon. Selon les conditions d’analyse et d’autres facteurs, les concentrations des éléments, du fluor à l’uranium, peuvent être mesurées de façon précise à des niveaux aussi faibles que 100 parties par million. Les nouveaux instruments permettent d’élargir la capacité d’analyse à des éléments plus légers, comme le béryllium, et d’abaisser les niveaux de détection.

En 1962, la Commission géologique du Canada a acquis le premier EPMA au Canada dans le cadre du renforcement des capacités de ses laboratoires d’Ottawa, en vue d’appuyer les opérations de terrain. La microanalyse électronique est devenue la méthode privilégiée pour l’analyse minérale quantitative, y compris la variation chimique dans les minéraux essentiels des roches, et elle est indispensable à la caractérisation des nouveaux minéraux.

La microanalyse électronique a appuyé les activités de recherche de la Commission pour la prospection de diamants et de métaux usuels, la détermination chimique de l’âge, l’évolution pression-température-temps des roches et des minéraux et les interactions entre les fluides et la roche. Elle est également utilisée comme outil préparatoire avant d’autres méthodes d’analyse, comme la spectrométrie de masse et l’analyse par sonde ionique (SHRIMP).

Categorie : Équipement et appareils

Décennie : Années 1960

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :