86. Nuclear Explosion Monitoring (1962)

Nuclear Explosion Monitoring

In the 1960s, the Department of Mines and Technical Surveys (now Natural Resources Canada) participated in a unique experiment with the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority to test the capabilities of a proposed seismometer array to monitor underground nuclear weapons tests.

Each array consisted of two lines of seismometers stretching 10–25 kilometres in the shape of a cross, T, or L. It was proposed that these arrays could be focused to record the seismic waves from underground tests originating from specific locations on Earth. Another hypothesis suggested that smaller 1–2 km clusters of seismometers might be more effective.

The Canadian array and cluster were constructed in wilderness underlain by stable bedrock west of Yellowknife, Northwest Territories. In time, research showed that arrays performed better than clusters at monitoring underground nuclear explosions. The cluster method was abandoned, with arrays becoming the preferred monitoring tool.

Now, more than half a century later, the Geological Survey of Canada’s Yellowknife array continues to monitor for nuclear explosions as part of the International Monitoring System of the Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty. Vestiges still remain, however, of the original early experiments, including this wooden vault that once housed a cluster seismometer.

Category: Equipment and Instrumentation

Decade: 1960s

References

Manchee, E.B. and Somers, H., 1966. The Yellowknife Seismological Array; Publications of the Dominion Observatory, v. 322, p. 69–84.

Burch, R., 1968. An Examination of Cluster Recordings from EKA and YKA Relative to a Single Seismometer; Atomic Weapons Establishment Blacknest Note AG/84, 11 p.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

86. Surveillance d'explosion nucléaire (1962)

Surveillance d'explosion nucléaire

Dans les années 1960, le ministère des Mines et des Relevés techniques (maintenant Ressources naturelles Canada) a participé à une expérience unique avec l’United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority (Autorité britannique de l’énergie atomique) afin d’évaluer les capacités d’un réseau sismologique proposé pour la surveillance des essais souterrains d’armes nucléaires.

Chaque réseau était composé de deux lignes de sismographes de 10 à 25 kilomètres en forme de croix, de T ou de L. Il a été proposé que ces réseaux puissent être essentiellement destinés à enregistrer les ondes sismiques causées par les essais souterrains émanant d’emplacements spécifiques sur la Terre. Une autre proposition a suggéré que des grappes de sismographes plus petites ayant 1 ou 2 km pourraient être plus efficaces.

Les sismographes en réseau et en grappe du Canada ont été installés dans la nature, reposant sur un substrat rocheux stable à l’ouest de Yellowknife, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Au fil du temps, les recherches ont démontré que les réseaux étaient plus efficaces que les grappes pour surveiller les explosions nucléaires souterraines. La méthode par grappes a été abandonnée, et les réseaux sont devenus l’outil de surveillance privilégié.

Aujourd’hui, plus d’un demi-siècle plus tard, le réseau de la Commission géologique du Canada à Yellowknife continue de surveiller les explosions nucléaires dans le cadre du système de surveillance international du Traité d’interdiction complète des armes nucléaires. Toutefois, des vestiges des expériences initiales subsistent, notamment cette voûte de bois qui abritait autrefois un sismographe en grappe.

Categorie : Équipement et appareils

Décennie : Années 1960

Références

Manchee, E.B. et Somers, H., 1966. The Yellowknife Seismological Array; Publications of the Dominion Observatory, v. 322, p. 69–84.

Burch, R., 1968. An Examination of Cluster Recordings from EKA and YKA Relative to a Single Seismometer; Atomic Weapons Establishment Blacknest Note AG/84, 11 p.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :