87. Seafloor Spreading (1963)

Seafloor Spreading

Totally unexpected linear magnetic anomalies off the Canada/US west coast were first discovered in the 1950s. They remained inexplicable until it was recognized that Earth’s magnetic field periodically reversed in direction and that the source of the anomalies could be cooled lavas extruded at a series of linear ocean ridges. Such ridges had been recognized in many oceans, but their significance remained enigmatic.

Geological Survey of Canada geophysicist Lawrence Morley was one of the first to have the “eureka” moment that put all the pieces together when he suggested that the magnetic anomalies could be a kind of tape-recorder of the symmetric spreading of the ocean floor through time. 

In early 1963, Morley submitted his hypothesis about magnetic stripes and tectonic plate movement, first to Nature and then to the Journal of Geophysical Research. Both journals rejected his idea as too speculative. In June of that year he presented his idea to the Royal Society of Canada. Through an unfortunate coincidence, in September 1963, Nature published essentially the same hypothesis by British scientists Frederick Vine and Drummond Matthews. It was widely accepted, and they received credit for the idea. Subsequently, Morley’s contribution was recognized, and the concept is now known as the Vine-Matthews-Morley Hypothesis.

Category: Science Advances

Decade: 1960s

References

Cox, A., 1973. Plate Tectonics and Geomagnetic Reversals; W.H. Freeman and Company, San Francisco, 702 p.

Lear, J., 1967. 1967: Canada’s unappreciated role as a scientific innovator; Saturday Review, Sept. 2 1967, p. 45–50.

Vine, F.J. and Matthews, D.H., 1963. Magnetic anomalies over ocean ridges; Nature, v. 199, p. 947–949. doi:10.1038/199947a0

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

87. Expansion des fonds océaniques (1963)

Expansion des fonds océaniques

Dans les années 1950, des anomalies magnétiques linéaires tout à fait inattendues ont été découvertes au large de la côte ouest du Canada et des États-Unis. Ces anomalies sont demeurées inexplicables jusqu’à ce qu’on reconnaisse que le champ magnétique terrestre s’inverse périodiquement et que les anomalies pouvaient être causées par des laves refroidies extrudées dans un ensemble de dorsales océaniques linéaires. Ces dorsales avaient été observées dans de nombreux océans, mais leur importance était demeurée énigmatique.

Le géophysicien Lawrence Morley, de la Commission géologique du Canada, a été l’un des premiers à avoir mis en place les pièces du casse-tête en suggérant que les anomalies magnétiques pouvaient être une sorte d’enregistreur de l’expansion symétrique du plancher océanique au fil du temps.

Au début de 1963, Morley à soumis son hypothèse sur les bandes magnétiques et le déplacement des plaques tectoniques, d’abord à la revue Nature, puis au Journal of Geophysical Research. Les deux revues ont rejeté son idée, la jugeant trop spéculative. En juin de la même année, il a présenté son idée à la Société royale du Canada. En septembre 1963, par une malencontreuse coïncidence, la revue Nature a publié essentiellement la même hypothèse formulée par les scientifiques britanniques Frederick Vine et Drummond Matthews. L’hypothèse a été largement acceptée, et les deux scientifiques se sont vu attribuer le mérite de l’idée. La contribution de Morley a par la suite été reconnue, et le concept est maintenant appelée l’hypothèse Vine-Matthews-Morley.

Categorie : Progrès scientifiques

Décennie : Années 1960

Références

Cox, A., 1973. Plate Tectonics and Geomagnetic Reversals; W.H. Freeman and Company, San Francisco, 702 p.

Lear, J., 1967. 1967: Canada’s unappreciated role as a scientific innovator; Saturday Review, Sept. 2 1967, p. 45–50.

Vine, F.J. et Matthews, D.H., 1963. Magnetic anomalies over ocean ridges; Nature, v. 199, p. 947–949. doi:10.1038/199947a0

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :