89. Strong Motion Seismograph (1963)

Strong Motion Seismograph

Strong motion seismographs are instruments that stay on-scale when shaking caused by an earthquake is strong enough to exceed the recording ability of the seismographs typically used to locate earthquakes.

In Canada, the first strong motion seismograph was manufactured and installed in1963, in Victoria, British Columbia and triggered a new direction in earthquake studies in Canada that focused on measuring and understanding the effects of earthquakes. There are now over 300 strong motion seismographs used in Canada by various agencies, with almost half by the Geological Survey of Canada.

These seismographs are deployed where strong shaking might occur, and most are located in urban areas or adjacent to critical infrastructure. Their recordings provide valuable input for engineering design, for assessing the magnifying effects of local geology on shaking, and for knowledge of the level of local shaking immediately after an earthquake.

One of the largest accelerations from earthquake shaking ever recorded (over twice the acceleration of gravity) was recorded near a magnitude 6.9 earthquake in the Nahanni region of the Northwest Territories by a temporarily deployed strong motion seismograph.

Category: Equipment and Instrumentation

Decade: 1960s

References

Cassidy, J.F., Rogers, G.C., Adams, J., and Halchuk, S., 2015. Canadian strong motion monitoring and recent datasets from Natural Resources Canada; Proceedings, 11th Canadian Conference on Earthquake Engineering, 21–24 July 2015, Victoria, Canada, Paper 93832, 10 p.

Rogers, G.C., Milne, W.G., and Bone, M.N., 1970. The strong motion seismograph network in western Canada - 1970; Publications of the Earth Physics Branch, Ottawa, v. 41, p. 1–29.

Home - Accueil

Date modified:

89. Sismographe pour secousses fortes (1963)

Sismographe pour secousses fortes

Les sismographes pour secousses fortes sont des instruments qui demeurent à l’échelle lorsque les secousses causées par un séisme sont si fortes qu’elles dépassent la capacité d’enregistrement des sismographes généralement utilisés pour localiser les séismes.

Au Canada, le premier sismographe pour secousses fortes a été fabriqué et installé en 1963, à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, et a donné une nouvelle direction aux études sur les tremblements de terre au Canada qui ont été axées sur l’évaluation et la compréhension des effets des séismes. Plus de 300 sismographes pour secousses fortes sont maintenant utilisés au Canada par divers organismes, dont près de la moitié par la Commission géologique du Canada.

Ces sismographes sont déployés là où de fortes secousses peuvent survenir, et la plupart sont localisés dans des zones urbaines ou à proximité d’infrastructures essentielles. Leurs enregistrements sont très utiles pour la conception technique, l’évaluation des effets amplificateurs de la géologie locale sur les secousses et la connaissance du niveau des secousses locales immédiatement après un séisme.

L’une des accélérations les plus importantes jamais enregistrées (plus de deux fois l’accélération de la pesanteur) à la suite d’un séisme a été enregistrée à proximité d’un séisme de magnitude 6,9 dans la région Nahanni, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, par un sismographe pour secousses fortes qui avait été déployé temporairement.

Categorie : Équipement et appareils

Décennie : Années 1960

Références

Cassidy, J.F., Rogers, G.C., Adams, J., et Halchuk, S., 2015. Canadian strong motion monitoring and recent datasets from Natural Resources Canada; Proceedings, 11th Canadian Conference on Earthquake Engineering, 21–24 July 2015, Victoria, Canada, Paper 93832, 10 p.

Rogers, G.C., Milne, W.G., et Bone, M.N., 1970. The strong motion seismograph network in western Canada - 1970; Publications of the Earth Physics Branch, Ottawa, v. 41, p. 1–29.

Home - Accueil

Date de modification :